OP
Sintralcoast

Sintralcoast

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have tried everything with this 150s reef octopus but I’m new to the hobby so I know there is something I need to do or something that I did is wrong. Besides the obvious break in time everyone talks about it just doesn’t seem right..I reached out to reef octopus but not even a reply and it’s been over a week. It’s been running for a solid 2 and a half weeks. Please any help is appreciated

Z-man

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I'll try to help you out. Let me predicate this by saying I haven't used Reef Octopus skimmers but most all work the same.

Where are you getting the micro bubbles? It's pretty difficult to see in the pictures...Or I'm missing something. Maybe the one picture

Where does the drain tube from the collection cup go? Looks like it circles around the base of the unit and back into the water! That's not the cause but would be putting the nasty stuff right back into your water. That needs to discharge outside the system

My guess on the bubbles is too much air flow into the skimmer. Can you restrict the air flow? Or shut the valve on the discharge a very little bit. Like maybe 1/8 of a turn, then wait for 15 minutes and see how the skimmer reacts.

New skimmers do tend to over produce

OP
OP
Sintralcoast

Sintralcoast

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0