Mixing Station Plumbing Help

VJV

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I am going to finally plumb my Saltwater Mixing station and would definitely appreciate some tips as this is my first attempt at plumbing anything and the wife would likely not appreciate to have 110 gallons of water in the floor of the laundry room .

I have two "Norwesco" type 55 gallons graduated cylinder shaped deposits (which were expensive as hell!!!). My main question (fr now) is if a bulkhead will make a tight enough seal in the rounded part of the barrel... I have seen a number of people doing it (including with Brute trashcans) so I guess it should work, but would like to be sure before I ruin (I mean drill) these expensive deposits.

Also, any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not familiar with those containers but the only reason bulkheads work well on brute cans is because the plastic is thin enough that it gets forced flat under the bulkhead. If your container is a more rigid plastic I believe a uniseal is probably a better option, although I've never personally used them because I have brute cans.

OP
OP
VJV

VJV

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks! I do not believe these should be more rigid than a Brute ao hopefully this should work. Also read somewhere about using a heat gun to soften (not melt, just make it easier to shape) the area where the bulkhead will attach before tightening it. As a concept this does make some sense to me. Any drawbacks I may be missing?

RobB'z Reef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0