Need advice! Almost burnt my house down

KimberlyMary

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I’m new to the hobby. I have a 60 gallon saltwater tank with two clowns, some snails and a cleaner shrimp. When I started I didn’t think I could have a sump where my tank isn’t drillable so I got a canister filter and HOB skimmer. When I was setting up I made sure to have a drip loop on all my cables and that my outlet was gfci..

Well, today we went to Walmart to return to a puddle in the floor and the light strip plugin completely blown. Turns out my protein skimmer overflowed majorly and managed to make it’s way near the outlet.