Need advice for sps dominant tank

michael giordano

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I miss metal halides for the growth aspect, nothing grows corals faster. That being said I live in south Florida and the heat produced is too much I don’t want to run a chiller. So now I run and aquatic life fixture with two XR15 g4 pros. I like this combo and I get good growth and color. Now I can run my tank all 9 months out of the year with no heater and tank stays at 79 degrees.

OP
OP
A

An ngo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a newbie who started my tank about 9 months ago. I've had all the usual issues except one: issues or concerns about lighting. I use a the ATI led powermodule. 4x80watt t5, 4 x 75 watt led clusters. I programmed it on the day I got it (mostly using the default settings), got the height right, haven't touched it since. All my SPS are basing out and growing up and full of colour.

There are many factors to successfully keeping SPS and lighting is just one. Having read so many stories about problems with bleaching, burning, browning and death and people having to muck around with their LEDs, to me, T5 is a great beginners choice because you can switch them on and they will work. Guaranteed. .

Supplemental LED light is nice and adds some power and pop. But I leave that at about 60% power max. Basically that means I can adjust the colour and spectrum to what is pleasing to my eyes and know that it isn't going to cause any detrimental effects.
Hi thanks for your comment, I’m running kessil sup t5 for my 20 gal and my rose bulb anemone pretty happy. I used to try sps on my tank, but it started stn after 2 months grow and crash my tank for some reason. I haven’t have any sps for now but 2 torch survive after that crash and still grow crazy under my light. Kessil is perfect choice for beginners, but I need to try something else on dufferent tank. Here is my tank under kessi sup t5

44EA39F8-4120-412F-A99A-4156A29BA0E8.jpeg