New 180 Build - Mini Coop's Dream Tank

Mini Coop

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all!

Well, my 120 is still being taken care of by my in-laws since we moved in July. And now, she is finally here! The local LFS had a sale, and I got my 180 with the overflow and return kit, furniture grade stand AND lids for under $1500 all new! A deal I couldn't refuse!

We will be plumbing the sump to the basement and are looking to probably do a hybrid of the braided flexible tubing and pvc. The kit that came with the tank is already set up for the tubing, but I have only ever seen PVC only set-ups. If you can give some feedback on this, that would be great. I just want to make sure we integrate some shut-off valves.

Equipment so far:
  • 2 A360W Tuna Blue kessil lights for each side, and a haylide for the center (for now until I get another kessil) Any feedback on the halyde is appreciated. I have no experience with them.
  • Tunze ATO system
  • Reef Octopus 152-S Protein Skimmer
  • I forget what kind my programmable power heads are - they are at my in-laws in the 120 still. But they will still be fine for the 180.
Needed and advice please:
  • WMD-40RLXT - 1344 GPH - IWAKI AMERICA - looking at this for external pump. I will have about 15 feet of head height. This one is rated 1344 GPH - is that enough?
  • I was also looking at this pump VECTRA M1 DC (2000 GPH) - ECOTECH MARINE - looks like the GPH is better, and has the controller. It is about $100 more, but doesn't look like it has great reviews. Can anyone help with the comparison?
I am thinking I need an external pump because of heat transfer.
  • Reef saver dry rock - looking to start over from the old tank so I don't transfer the millions of bristle worms over, and just want a fresh start. I will cook a few of my favorite pieces from the 120.