New Coral Frags... Stressed or Dying??

katienoel216

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,
I'm pretty new to keeping marine aquariums. I've kept freshwater planted tanks before and I thought I'd take a shot at saltwater. I have a 20g Waterbox Cube that's been cycling for a few weeks. I received a shipment from WWC of my first coral frags ever and was pretty excited. I got a pulsing xenia to put on its own island, speckled leather, and a fireworks clove. However, I'm seeing some worrying things.

It was bitterly cold on Thursday when the package arrived, so I was worried about if they had succumbed to the cold; luckily, there was a heat pack inside the box and the water in their bags felt warm. I floated the bags for about 45 minutes with the lights off, and then drip acclimated for about an hour. The temp in my tank is currently set at 78 degrees and has not changed since I received the frags. However, I think it's important to note that I did not dip them; the instructions that came with the corals told me not to in order to prevent further stress, so I didn't. At this point, the frags were VERY stressed out and the xenia was producing a ton of mucus. I placed the frags at the bottom of the tank to adjust to the lighting. I'm running an aquaknight 30w that some other reefers recommended to me. I have a timer on the light so it will run for about 10 hours per day.
Here's a photo of the leather on Thursday a few hours after I put it in:
IMG_6200.PNG

Things started getting a lot worse the next day; part of the xenia broke off, and the leather started to look like it was dissolving or something. Clove looks pretty much the same. I have no fish in the tank yet, so the water isn't super dirty or anything (which may actually be an issue); I tested my water multiple times and it seems to be running fine with a salinity of 1.024/.25 and PH of 7.8. No ammonia or nitrite. Here's what they looked like this evening:
IMG_6208.png
IMG_6207.png
IMG_6206.png