New Gyre Models

drsalomon

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
12
Location
Rhode island
What would happen if my gyre had A and B propellers installed and I put it in oceanic gyre mode? I like the fact that it alternates and ramps down at night but I would not want to cut my flow in half by installing 2 A or 2 B blades. Please advise.
 

[email protected]

CoralVue PR Manager
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
400
Reaction score
130
Location
NW Indiana
What would happen if my gyre had A and B propellers installed and I put it in oceanic gyre mode? I like the fact that it alternates and ramps down at night but I would not want to cut my flow in half by installing 2 A or 2 B blades. Please advise.
If you use the Gyre stock with a A and a B propeller and cage then when in an alternating state both propellers would be going forward creating the natural gyre flow and when in reverse both propellers would produce a slight turbulent down flow.
 

drsalomon

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
12
Location
Rhode island
So wouldn't it be better to run oceanic gyre mode with A and B paddles on both Gyres so you could get double the forward flow as each pump on either side of the tank takes over the forward gyre compared to 2 A or 2 B paddles which would only give you one paddle of forward flow and one paddle of alternate gyre flow with the other 2 being turbulent. I assume alternate gyre mode on a single paddle would not be as powerful as forward gyre mode on a single paddle. Am I missing something?
 

[email protected]

CoralVue PR Manager
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
400
Reaction score
130
Location
NW Indiana
It really depends on how you have or want your pumps configured. That is the nice thing about the Gyre is the versatility you have with the flow. But the Alternating Gyre mode is designed for the alternating Gyre propeller and cage configurations. The alternating gyre works best when the pump is in the vertical position basically turning your Gyre into two separate power heads capable of pushing water in two different directions. If your looking for flow with standard propeller configuration I would suggest the Random mode or the lunar tidal cycle aka LTC.
 

drsalomon

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
12
Location
Rhode island
That makes a lot of sense. Alternate gyre in horizontal pump configuration would seem to cause sand to blow everywhere. But if the pumps are vertical and your aquascape is clear of all sides, it seems oceanic mode would work well. Can LTC or random mode be combined with a night mode that ramps down the maximums at night? For random can I force antisync? That is what I like about Oceanic mode
 

Dumaurier7

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
760
Reaction score
273
Location
Carribean
Hi there , I'd like to know if there are any plans to do an ICECAP interface module for the 200 series, thanks.
 

drsalomon

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
12
Location
Rhode island
SO I can have it random mode from 9am to 5pm at 100% and then random at 20% from 5pm to 9am for example?
 

[email protected]

CoralVue PR Manager
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
400
Reaction score
130
Location
NW Indiana
SO I can have it random mode from 9am to 5pm at 100% and then random at 20% from 5pm to 9am for example?
Yes here is how to setup automatic mode time stamp 8:21: This will allow you to set different modes at different flow rates throughout a 24hour cycle.
 

[email protected]

CoralVue PR Manager
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
400
Reaction score
130
Location
NW Indiana
The IceCap modules work with the XF230 and XF250. There is currently no module available for the XF280.
 

gfox

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
1,478
Reaction score
315
Location
michigan
I would like to get a recommendation of one of the Gyre pumps for my reef tank.I have a DSA 105 rimless that is 48x24x21.I have all LPS and anemones in the tank.Right now i have a Jebao WP 25 with a Mag 18 basement sump for flow.I did try 2 Jebao 25s and that was to much flow.What would you recommend for my tank.Also do you need the controller to run the pump?
Anyone?
 

gfox

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
1,478
Reaction score
315
Location
michigan
I would like to get a recommendation of one of the Gyre pumps for my reef tank.I have a DSA 105 rimless that is 48x24x21.I have all LPS and anemones in the tank.Right now i have a Jebao WP 25 with a Mag 18 basement sump for flow.I did try 2 Jebao 25s and that was to much flow.What would you recommend for my tank.Also do you need the controller to run the pump?
anyone?
 

saltygoat

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
6
I have a brand new icecap controller if needing one. Box has never been opened. Was going to use it with my Apex but changed my plans. Tried to return it but unfortunately had it over 60 days as my build took longer than I intended.
 

[email protected]

CoralVue PR Manager
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
400
Reaction score
130
Location
NW Indiana
How would 1 250 work?
If your looking for just running one gyre then it would provide you with more than enough flow. I usually would only look at a 250 on 6ft - 8ft long tanks. But for ultimate flow I do suggest the use of two pumps. In that case two 250s would be too much and unsightly compared to the smaller XF230s.
 

Dumaurier7

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
760
Reaction score
273
Location
Carribean
I have a brand new icecap controller if needing one. Box has never been opened. Was going to use it with my Apex but changed my plans. Tried to return it but unfortunately had it over 60 days as my build took longer than I intended.
I have two 150's with two ice cap modules right now , I would like to add a pair of the 200 series pumps all to be controlled by a third party computer (Prifilux P4) so I'd like to know if the 200 series can work since I have not seen a new Icecap module.
 

nbagnardi

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
547
Location
New York
Yes, the Gyre Advanced Controller will eventually be able to be controlled via Wifi through the ICV6 and the future iOS and Android Gyre App.
hey Jeremy, i have a gyre 130 and waiting for the 250 to get here... will i be able to hook up the 130 to the 250 and have it slave off it or does it have to be a 150 to do so?
 

[email protected]

CoralVue PR Manager
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
400
Reaction score
130
Location
NW Indiana
hey Jeremy, i have a gyre 130 and waiting for the 250 to get here... will i be able to hook up the 130 to the 250 and have it slave off it or does it have to be a 150 to do so?
Sorry you will not be capable of using you XF130 pump on the XF250 controller. However you can use your XF130 pump on a XF230.
 

Is your Build Thread Badge missing? Uh oh!

  • Yes it's gone

    Votes: 90 27.6%
  • Nope, I'm quick

    Votes: 98 30.1%
  • Uh I don't understand. (you better click and read)

    Votes: 63 19.3%
  • Never had one...until now!

    Votes: 75 23.0%

Online statistics

Members online
610
Guests online
2,074
Total visitors
2,684
teffo, contstant temperature & 4 ch controller
Aqua SD
Top