New Gyre Models

Discussion in 'Maxspect' started by ReefWithCare, Aug 19, 2016.

  1. drsalomon

    drsalomon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rhode island
    What would happen if my gyre had A and B propellers installed and I put it in oceanic gyre mode? I like the fact that it alternates and ramps down at night but I would not want to cut my flow in half by installing 2 A or 2 B blades. Please advise.
     

  2. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    If you use the Gyre stock with a A and a B propeller and cage then when in an alternating state both propellers would be going forward creating the natural gyre flow and when in reverse both propellers would produce a slight turbulent down flow.
     
  3. drsalomon

    drsalomon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rhode island
    So wouldn't it be better to run oceanic gyre mode with A and B paddles on both Gyres so you could get double the forward flow as each pump on either side of the tank takes over the forward gyre compared to 2 A or 2 B paddles which would only give you one paddle of forward flow and one paddle of alternate gyre flow with the other 2 being turbulent. I assume alternate gyre mode on a single paddle would not be as powerful as forward gyre mode on a single paddle. Am I missing something?
     
  4. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    It really depends on how you have or want your pumps configured. That is the nice thing about the Gyre is the versatility you have with the flow. But the Alternating Gyre mode is designed for the alternating Gyre propeller and cage configurations. The alternating gyre works best when the pump is in the vertical position basically turning your Gyre into two separate power heads capable of pushing water in two different directions. If your looking for flow with standard propeller configuration I would suggest the Random mode or the lunar tidal cycle aka LTC.
     
  5. drsalomon

    drsalomon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rhode island
    That makes a lot of sense. Alternate gyre in horizontal pump configuration would seem to cause sand to blow everywhere. But if the pumps are vertical and your aquascape is clear of all sides, it seems oceanic mode would work well. Can LTC or random mode be combined with a night mode that ramps down the maximums at night? For random can I force antisync? That is what I like about Oceanic mode
     
  6. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Carribean
    Hi there , I'd like to know if there are any plans to do an ICECAP interface module for the 200 series, thanks.
     
  7. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Yes you can create your own 24hr cycle to fully customize your flow.
     
  8. drsalomon

    drsalomon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Rhode island
    SO I can have it random mode from 9am to 5pm at 100% and then random at 20% from 5pm to 9am for example?
     
  9. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Yes here is how to setup automatic mode time stamp 8:21:

    This will allow you to set different modes at different flow rates throughout a 24hour cycle.
     
  10. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Carribean
    Anyone?
     
  11. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    The IceCap modules work with the XF230 and XF250. There is currently no module available for the XF280.
     
  12. gfox

    gfox Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    michigan
    Anyone?
     
  13. gfox

    gfox Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    michigan
    anyone?
     
  14. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    2 XF230 would provide you with the greatest range of flow options. You can start off with one but I always like the use of two pumps to generate healthy water movement.
     
  15. gfox

    gfox Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    michigan
    How would 1 250 work?
     
  16. saltygoat

    saltygoat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a brand new icecap controller if needing one. Box has never been opened. Was going to use it with my Apex but changed my plans. Tried to return it but unfortunately had it over 60 days as my build took longer than I intended.
     
  17. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    If your looking for just running one gyre then it would provide you with more than enough flow. I usually would only look at a 250 on 6ft - 8ft long tanks. But for ultimate flow I do suggest the use of two pumps. In that case two 250s would be too much and unsightly compared to the smaller XF230s.
     
  18. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    272
    Location:
    Carribean
    I have two 150's with two ice cap modules right now , I would like to add a pair of the 200 series pumps all to be controlled by a third party computer (Prifilux P4) so I'd like to know if the 200 series can work since I have not seen a new Icecap module.
     
  19. nbagnardi

    nbagnardi Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    545
    Location:
    New York
    hey Jeremy, i have a gyre 130 and waiting for the 250 to get here... will i be able to hook up the 130 to the 250 and have it slave off it or does it have to be a 150 to do so?
     
  20. Jeremy@CoralVue

    Jeremy@CoralVue CoralVue PR Manager R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Sorry you will not be capable of using you XF130 pump on the XF250 controller. However you can use your XF130 pump on a XF230.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page