New Gyre Models

mpjmeyer

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 19, 2013
Messages
665
Reaction score
1,167
Location
St. Louis
The IceCap is just an interface so you will need a pump and power supply and you can run the Gyre on the Apex and will still have to write code to command the pump. The Advanced controller with the ICV6 will hook up to the Apex network in the near future.
Is the ICV6 just an app or is it a physical item I'll need? I'm getting ready to order the 250 with advanced controller and would like to eventually control it through apex
 

ReefingwithO

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
435
Reaction score
316
Location
Brooklyn
I am thinking of getting the XF230 with controller. Do I need any other device to be able to control the pump with the new Apex?
 

jason2459

Not a paid scientist
View Badges
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
4,224
Reaction score
2,612
Jason , I see your post on the xf250 using the old controller are you sure it works? I called coralvue and the said it will not work . Old controller with new xf250 pump ?
Absolutely 100% positive the xf250 I have running right now is controlled by the original basic controller.

My right horizontal gyre right now is the xf250 and it just runs 100% 24/7 and its on the original xf150 basic controller right now. It was also ran off my xf150 icecap module. I've been to lazy to switch it back to the icecap module for apex contril. My left vertical mounted gyre is the original xf150 and plugged into an icecap for apex control and does my own lunar tidal simulation.

20170122_221352.jpg


20170122_220705.jpg
 

Saltfisher

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 25, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Location
MA
Thanks Jason for the verification ...Interesting why Coralvue would say that these are incompatible than? .. I know the new Controller has more features but also another 150 ..UPsell maybe ?

From: Carlos Chacon [mailto:support@coralvue.com]

Sent: Wednesday, January 11, 2017 7:10 PM

Subject: [E] Re: I have a question on my Gyre looking for a new pump can I order... - [BXX-SYJLM-017]
---------- Please type your reply above this line ----------
Hello Jim

The XF250 pump will work with the XF150 power supply but it will NOT work with the XF150 controller.
Sincerely,

Carlos Chacon

Coralvue
 

griff500

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
438
Reaction score
192
It really depends on how you have or want your pumps configured. That is the nice thing about the Gyre is the versatility you have with the flow. But the Alternating Gyre mode is designed for the alternating Gyre propeller and cage configurations. The alternating gyre works best when the pump is in the vertical position basically turning your Gyre into two separate power heads capable of pushing water in two different directions. If your looking for flow with standard propeller configuration I would suggest the Random mode or the lunar tidal cycle aka LTC.
If I wanted to place them vertically on the back glass next to the central weir on a Reefer 350 for aesthetic purposes what would be the preferred settings and could both rotors point along the back glass away from the weir (each set pointing sideways)? Perhaps OGC? Would this still provide some decent flow and surface movement? I'm using two XF250 at present on opposite ends using LTC and very pleased with the flow. Upgraded from MP40QD. ;)
 

griff500

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
438
Reaction score
192
In addition, do we know exactly what the new firmware has changed?
 

Lovemycj7

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
463
Reaction score
169
If I wanted to place them vertically on the back glass next to the central weir on a Reefer 350 for aesthetic purposes what would be the preferred settings and could both rotors point along the back glass away from the weir (each set pointing sideways)? Perhaps OGC? Would this still provide some decent flow and surface movement? I'm using two XF250 at present on opposite ends using LTC and very pleased with the flow. Upgraded from MP40QD. ;)
Not sure how you are making the xf 250s work on the rsr350. I tried them and best I could do was 10-20% mounted vertically on gyre mode. Moved a lot of water. Ended up trading mine for 230s
 

griff500

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
438
Reaction score
192
Not sure how you are making the xf 250s work on the rsr350. I tried them and best I could do was 10-20% mounted vertically on gyre mode. Moved a lot of water. Ended up trading mine for 230s
Running at 50% maximum LTC with no issue, pointing directly forward a couple of inches below the surface.
 

kodo28

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
245
Reaction score
120
Can someone confirm the barrel size of the XF250 or XF150 power supply ?

I got a XF250 (pump only) and need to get now a power supply for it to connect it to the Icecap.

cheers!
 
Last edited:

Dumaurier7

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
760
Reaction score
272
Location
Carribean
They are the same , I swapped out my 150s with the new 250s and they hooked right up without issue.
 

kodo28

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
245
Reaction score
120
They are the same , I swapped out my 150s with the new 250s and they hooked right up without issue.
I need to know the connector size which is used (5.5x2.1mm or 5.5x2.5mm)
 

West1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
1,020
Reaction score
333
Location
Idaho
Absolutely 100% positive the xf250 I have running right now is controlled by the original basic controller.

My right horizontal gyre right now is the xf250 and it just runs 100% 24/7 and its on the original xf150 basic controller right now. It was also ran off my xf150 icecap module. I've been to lazy to switch it back to the icecap module for apex contril. My left vertical mounted gyre is the original xf150 and plugged into an icecap for apex control and does my own lunar tidal simulation.

View attachment 464504

View attachment 464505
How would you rate the noise level of the icecap gyre compared to MP10wqd?
I did have one of the jebao gyres and it went back the following day, you can hear the gears turning the water, no thank you lol.
 

jason2459

Not a paid scientist
View Badges
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
4,224
Reaction score
2,612
How would you rate the noise level of the icecap gyre compared to MP10wqd?
I did have one of the jebao gyres and it went back the following day, you can hear the gears turning the water, no thank you lol.
Unfortunately I don't know what the MP10s sound like. I can say the Tunze pumps I were running were very slightly quieter but not by much. I can also say my xf250 is very quiet and I can hear it if I put my head up next the tank in a low hum. I don't pulse mine but do run it at 100%
 

West1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
1,020
Reaction score
333
Location
Idaho
Unfortunately I don't know what the MP10s sound like. I can say the Tunze pumps I were running were very slightly quieter but not by much. I can also say my xf250 is very quiet and I can hear it if I put my head up next the tank in a low hum. I don't pulse mine but do run it at 100%
If its pulsing, does it make noise? Tyvm btw, I'm interested in one of these guys :)
 
Top