OP
OP
MarsWulf5

MarsWulf5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I've started out on this adventure again after 13 years away. I recently bought a tank and realised I had the wrong tank, filter, lights, etc... For the reef tank I want to build.

So, today, I bought a custom 125g tank (with a predrilled built in overflow - the 65 gallon I returned would have needed an overflow box and I think was gonna be too small looking a year or so into the future)

It has an Oak stand and an Oak hood to hide the lighting. It's a 4 footer, so it has a lot of depth.

I went with an Aqueon 36×19×14 sump system and a Hydor Seltz D DC Controllable Universal Pump for the return pump 1200 GPH. The sump was a little pricey - but - I posted a pic and it's way more advanced than anything I would have built as a newbie. I have never done a sump system before - so it was a lot to learn. I get it now but it took a lot of explaining to understand exactly why a sump is necessary for the type of corals and amount of fish I want in my aquarium.

I started back on this path staring a tank and stand for sale in Petsmart... It was 40% off then 50% off and I bought the tank. After a week of doing research on marine aquariums nonstop when not at work, I realized my the tank and cannister filter I bought were just not gonna work. I needed a tank with a drilled overflow. I had no idea what a sump was. My heart sank as I watched YouTube videos and realized that I had this whole thing wrong off the bat.

So, I went to a reputable aquarium store... After the shop owner worked on me over two days I bought the tank of my dreams.