New tank setup-overflow/sump volume question

Ecotech Marine

Neckbone

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
40
It been a while since I posted here. After learning a whole bunch with my first setup, running it for over a year and selling it off, I’m restarting the hobby.

This time around I have a 55 gal display to work with. I want to build a back-drilled Herbie overflow system. I have a 1200GPH overflow box and a Sicce Silent 4.0 (900ish GPH at 0 head pressure. My question comes down to sump capacity.

For the Herbie to work the primary drain needs to be at least 4” from the water surface. This mean when I lose power, 10 gallons on water will drain to the sump, correct? (4”x12”x48”). Im confident a 29gal tank can handle it but for some reason I can’t find one. Not even new. I might go 20 gallon long, but with varying levels of water in the various sump chambers how can I determine the left over volume? If I put 9 gal of water in there that leaves some room for displacement and then barely enough room for the 10 gallon dump. Is there any faulty logic here?
 
https://www.youtube.com/c/ReefStache

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
7,492
Reaction score
31,042
Location
Hurricane, WV
The overflow box in the front has a weir?
The DT will only drain down to the bottom of the weir, The overflow boxes will drain down and how much comes back from the returns depends on siphon breaks and configuration

No, the tank should not drain down to the level of the full siphon drain.
 

Rmckoy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
2,469
Reaction score
2,364
Location
Ontario Canada
In this planning stage ...

What skimmer are you planning on using ?
The operating depth will also contribute to the size required .
 

Rmckoy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
2,469
Reaction score
2,364
Location
Ontario Canada
My tank is 230 gal ( 72x27x27 )
My sump is 42”x16”x16”)
The sump is running around 1/2 full , when the power is off only about 3/4” water from the dt drains into the sump ( the sump is about 1” from the top ) mark the sump with a marker or tape as the max fill or operating level to assure if the power goes out it will not overflow
 
Fritz
OP
Neckbone

Neckbone

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
40
The overflow box in the front has a weir?
The DT will only drain down to the bottom of the weir, The overflow boxes will drain down and how much comes back from the returns depends on siphon breaks and configuration

No, the tank should not drain down to the level of the full siphon drain.
It’s an internal overflow box with weir. Duh, I knew I was forgetting something! Of course all the DT water won’t drain 10gal; it won’t flow over the weir once it drops below it. Thanks!

In this planning stage ...

What skimmer are you planning on using ?
The operating depth will also contribute to the size required .

Aquamaxx FC80. It has a recommended water level of 7.8”
 

Rmckoy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
2,469
Reaction score
2,364
Location
Ontario Canada
It’s an internal overflow box with weir. Duh, I knew I was forgetting something! Of course all the DT water won’t drain 10gal; it won’t flow over the weir once it drops below it. Thanks!



Aquamaxx FC80. It has a recommended water level of 7.8”
That being said you need that water depth of water volume plus what ever is above the weir
 

Do you take notice when your coral starts stretching or shrinking?

  • YES and usually there is a probem

    Votes: 130 61.0%
  • YES but I never have a problem

    Votes: 55 25.8%
  • NO

    Votes: 15 7.0%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 13 6.1%
AAF
Top