New to R2R

AquaNerd1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

My name is Brandon, and I'm new to Reef2Reef. I've been a addicted to this hobby for several years...so much so that I got my bachelor's degree in marine biology and pretty much live and breath saltwater aquariums.

My first saltwater aquarium was an 80-gallon tank that I had at my parents in high school. I quickly upgraded to a 90-gallon reef ready, not much of a jump in volume I know, but at least this tank was reef ready unlike the other one. I stayed with this setup for a few years, filling it up with a variety of corals and fish, including at one point a stunning blue spot jawfish.

After graduating, I moved back to my hometown, got an apartment, and set up a custom 180-gallon tank. I experimented a lot with this tank, trying out ZEOvit, switching back and forth between T5HO lighting and Metal Halides, and lots of other things. The tank survived Hurricane Ike, though I did try to rescue some livestock from hobbyists that weren't so lucky. It bit me in the butt to say the least. I had to battle with all sorts of issues because of this.

Last year, I broke the tank down and sold off most of my livestock and equipment. I had bought a new house and was preparing for the move. I planned on doing an upgrade once I moved in, but that's been almost a year and I've yet to build it. I've been jonesing for an aquarium big time. To keep my passion alive though, I started blogging. I formed the AquaNerd Blog (http://blog.aquanerd.com) in May '09 and I've been doing it ever since.