Newbie Needing Advice on Pests and Chalice

KelseyMarie125

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Reef2Reef Community! I’m a total Newb to the hobby and I had no idea HOW much I was getting into when buying a saltwater tank! So far I’m really enjoying it, just wishing I’d had a better head start with more understanding and better advice on dipping/quarantine and how to make sure the live rock I bought was pest free.
It seems you can never stop learning in this hobby, and a lot of things are quite confusing and make me feel very uneducated! Anyhow. I’ve had my tank now 5 months and started adding some corals 1 by 1 after about 6 weeks up until now.

I’m starting to realize, after researching things on Reef2Reef, that I haven’t always been given the best advice from my LFS. I live in a small town and we only have 1 place to go.

When I bought my 7gal tank set up In March 2022, I was instructed to use Aragonite, “ready to go” liverock, and already mixed salt water, add to tank, and wait a few weeks before adding anything. I was not instructed to do anything with the liverock to avoid potential pests. After about 6 weeks, noticed an aptasia anemone, got a peppermint shrimp and he ate it, no problems with aptasia since. The shrimp unfortunately died during his first molt. Also got my cleanup crew. Since then, little by little have added a few corals. I asked about dipping and was told there was no need….. wishing I had done it anyways based off of what I am now reading online.