Occ_motorcycles 2.5 nano build

occ_motorcycles

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well to start I am fairly new to the hobby being in for about 3.5 years and only having salt water and reef. I started with a 15 and moved to a little bigger (40 with a 40 refuge). I will use terms that are probably not the proper term for what I am talking about but you can stop reading if it offends you. So to give a little more history on my tanks. A friend told me that it was impossible to keep a 2.5g running with a fish for any amount of time successfully. Well I kept it going long enough to prove him wrong and so now I have decided to go small again and take a couple ideas from a few other people and put them together. I read about a desk build that had no live rock. This is something I have thought about but not gone into details looking at. My local fish store has a product called tank clear. The pack runs $10 and is a live rock substitute. Not replacing the actual rock in the tank but replacing the home for bacteria that are in the cycle. One pack of this can replace live rock for a 50g tank. I will use about 5 pieces from the pack for this build. So I seem to have forgotten to tell you about the build. I recently lost my job and am searching for something to do while not looking for work. Well after looking through my old aquarium stuff I have a 2.5g that I will now turn into an all in one reef without fish. (Just to mean to put a clown goby in that small of a tank) I am leaving some details out for the moment but I will be putting Lps and zoa in this tank. Brighter colors but only things that I have on hand. I am putting a cap on my spending for this to $50 total. Call me crazy but I know this WILL turn out good. So this is my first post and I have gotten most of the things together that I will use.

1/4 inch plexiglass sheet
Aquarium silicon
Superglue gel
Protein skimmer for biocube 29g
100w theo hydor heater(probably replace or trade for 50w)