Perestaltic pump on 3171

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

X-37B

Fight The Good Fight
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Roger, curious if you know of anyone running a peristaltic pump on a 3171. My 3171 keeps putting out lower amounts. Turn it to 25ml minute and over a couple of days it is 15. Not sure why. Co2 pressure does not change. Sump is kept clean. Any thoughts or possible issues running a peristaltic pump for effuelt stability.
I have a masterflex on hand.

rvitko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I suspect there is a reason but I don't know why. I am not sure the peristaltic pump is a good solution. My main thought from going through this with someone else is that it is media related, or it could be pump related, or a combination, for example the media is fouling the pump so it slows down or the passages in the lines clog. I might first try the Tunze Calcium Carbonate. I use the 3172 and it has been incredibly solid, I previously used the 3170, the basics of all 3 models are the same, only the volume and pump varies (3172 uses the same pump). I would assume we are losing vacuum or pressure somewhere from clogs or leaks.

OP
OP
X-37B

X-37B

Fight The Good Fight
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use the tunze media. It stays 25 ml a minute then drops to 20 in a few days and went as low as 15. Turned the screw and it is fine for a few days. I dont believe its clogged as my sump is clean. Check out the pic.
20200118_180901.jpg

rvitko

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0