pH toooooo low!

Discussion in 'Reef Chemistry by Randy Holmes-Farley' started by d2mini, Feb 5, 2018.

  1. Abhishek

    Abhishek Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Want2BS8ed, GoVols and Velcro like this.

  2. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    I had an old model. He must have started lowering the Venturi port?
     
  3. Randy Holmes-Farley

    Randy Holmes-Farley Reef Chemist Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Article Contributor Expert Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    25,237
    Likes Received:
    13,282
    Location:
    Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
    Weeks to raise pH with outside air? The effect should happen in a day or two max.
     
    Want2BS8ed, GoVols and d2mini like this.
  4. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Yea I’ve always seen improvement with 12 hours and full effect with 48 hours.
     
  5. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Another consideration is that often the air right outside the home is still high in CO2. I saw a huge difference between drawing air just outside the window and then drawing air about 12 feet up from the window.
     
    GoVols likes this.
  6. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,618
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I think it's still the same. I'm talking extreme circumstances.
    Like right now I'm having an issue with my Vectra fluctuating flow, which causes the sump level to change. If it gets high, the skimmer start filling the cup real quick.
     
  7. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Ah gotcha. Throw a float switch in the cup and call it a day :)
     
  8. bubbaque

    bubbaque Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    994
    Location:
    Central Florida
    The float switch to your controller might really be worth it to you. The moisture for the media really makes that big of a difference. I initially have it pulling humidity from a 5 gallon bucket half full of water and it helped make it last slightly longer. Once I put the input into the skimmer cup it made a world of difference on the life of it.

    I did end up turning off my return pump one day and not my skimmer and it did flood the media but luckily I noticed right away when it was happening and stopped it. I removed the hose to skimmer ever since. I don't have a controller to control any of this so it wasn't really an option for me to add the float switch or it would have been worth while to install it and keep the hose in it.
     
    d2mini likes this.
  9. Want2BS8ed

    Want2BS8ed Active Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Terminally Lost
    Wow, that is an awesome thread as well, between that and what we have discussed here I am going move my intake to the collection cup to see if the media can be extended even further than the solenoid bypass alone.

    Recirculating the same air - brilliant!

    Greater piece of mind and much easier than plumping outside and running carbon.

    Dennis, you start some of the most thought provoking threads. Thanks!

    M
     
    d2mini and GoVols like this.
  10. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,618
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    ok so last night was a PITA.
    First, i had my Vectra return pump soaking in a vinegar bath because I'm having a whole other problem with that.
    So the tank recirculation was off for about 6 hours which dropped the ph below 7.
    Then after I get the pump cleaned, put back together and flowing again, I realize like an hour later that my skimmer is not working. Inspected the pump first, couldn't find anything.
    Finally took the skimmer apart and found a litte snail jammed up in the venturi. :mad:
    Got that put all back together and running by 9pm. Yeesh.
    But that includes drilling the skimmer cap hole a little larger and shoving a 1/4" ro/di line in there. I ran it out the back of the stand. So it's poking out the rear corner.
    It took quite a while of the ph to rise and is currently at the same value of 7.57.
    Will see if it gets any higher today than normal.
     
    bubbaque and GoVols like this.
  11. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Tank pH below 7.0? I don't think that's possible!
     
  12. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,618
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yup. While the sump was sitting stagnant (where my probes are) it was reading 6.5.
    Once it got going the sump water had to mix with the tank water... whatever that was at the time.
     
    GoVols likes this.
  13. GoVols

    GoVols VFL R2R Supporter MTRCMember R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4,874
    Likes Received:
    5,699
    Location:
    In-The-Boro, TN
    .... :rolleyes:
    ............ ;Wideyed
     
    d2mini likes this.
  14. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,618
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Like I said in my first post.... :D
     
    GoVols likes this.
  15. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    9,374
    Likes Received:
    13,099
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Wow! That must be some crazy interaction with the calcium reactor! CO2 alone couldn't do that! :eek:
     
    GoVols likes this.
  16. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,618
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I had the c02 solenoid and feed pump unplugged while the return pump was down. Basically nothing in the sump was running. Only the display had circulation from the vortechs.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  17. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Man that's really weird...
     
  18. Velcro

    Velcro Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Dennis, take a cup of your tank water outdoors and aerate the hell out of it for a few hours. Remeasure the pH with your controller to see what that says. I'm really starting to think there's a calibration of equipment malfunction going on here. I don't think saltwater with appropriate alk can even get that low from CO2 alone (at least the levels in the ambient air).
     
    Potatohead, d2mini and GoVols like this.
  19. d2mini

    d2mini Moderator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,618
    Likes Received:
    4,620
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Will do.
     
    GoVols likes this.
  20. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    9,374
    Likes Received:
    13,099
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I'm not a calcium reactor guy, and I know they work at pH's down in the 6.5 range since they use carbonic acid to do the dissolving. I just can't figure out how it could drop the entire sump that low if it wasn't running.

    Calibration could be an issue, but that would have to be WAY off since pH is a log scale.
     
    d2mini and GoVols like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...