Project Valinor - 84x30x25" Reef Tank

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Hello Everyone,

I have been out of the hobby for quite some time now (5+) years, but used to have a BioCube and then a 65 Gallon tank. I am finally getting back in and going big!

Currently the plan is to have the tank in our fully finished and air conditioned basement. The tank size is going to be 84x30x27. Everything will be plumbed into my unfinished portion of the basement where my wife happily allowed me to make a fish room! :)

In the fish room I plan on having a 75G Sump.

I am going to attempt to make this room as neat as a I can. I am going to try to put up expanded PVC walls instead of drywall and also make some false walls so I can try hiding all the cables. We will see how this goes.

Below is my current equipment wish list! I have never done an aquarium this big, so this will definitely be a learning process.

1x Planet Aquariums 84x30x25 Tank (Still deciding on rimmed, eurobraced or rimless, this will probably come down to price)
1x Geo 60x20x15 Custom Sump
1x Reef Octopus Regal 250INT or 300INT Skimmer
2x 75 Gallon containers for RO and Salt water
Full Neptune control system
2x Cor-20 Returns, possibly 1 cor-20 and one Abyzz A200
1x Dos for AWC
1x Geo Cryptic Reactor
1x Geo 818 Calcium Reactor with second chamber
2x 600W Heaters
4x XR30 Gen 5 Pro lights.
1x Carbon Reactor
1x Pentair UV 50W UV Filter

So Far my progress is below:

2- 20Amp circuits installed. I didn't have any GFCI outlets available so I installed normal ones, but they will be replaced.

IMG_2316.JPEG


I also started making something similar to the Adaptive Reef Controller Board. I could not justify spending $250 on it so I bought about $40 of materials and made my own! I am still waiting for the grommets to come in and need to cut the holes in the front.

IMG_2318.JPEG
IMG_2319.JPEG


The plan is to mount all the controllers on the front of the door and hide all the cables in the back.

I am still in the process of getting everything ordered, but if anyone has any tips or pointers I am all ears.

As I mentioned I have been out of the hobby for a while and there is so much new information out there. I do plan on doing mostly SPS with some LPS for the wife since she likes the hammers and Torch corals.

A few questions to start.

Does anyone have any eurobraced tanks without canopies that are this large? If so, can you post a picture? I can't have a canopy because the ceiling in the area I want to put the tank is only 6'5" due to a duct running overhead.

Does anyone have their RODI system going directly into the sump for ATO? I am debating between either directly running a line, feeding the ATO from the 75G storage tank or just have a 10G bucket and do manual fills.

This is my first house with Well Water. I do plan on running through an RODI system, but does anyone have any experience with well water and Reef Tanks?
 
Last edited:
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Slight change of plans. I might be going with a Geo sump vs the Synergy.

It would be something like this, but with Red walls and also a refugium at the end.

1600917338966.png


Anyone have an experience with either Geo or Synergy?
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Making small progress as my tank quotes trickle in.

E0172180-F28F-4882-8101-02B73A389C18.jpeg


Added the BRS triple DI saver to my 5 stage drinking water system. My house has well water that I soften and remove iron from. TDS going into the RO filter is very high at around 800-900. Then leaving the RO membrane it’s down between 15-20. Leaving the DI resin it is 0. I figured I’d be going through a lot of DI resin and the 3 stage should help me save a little money.
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Making some progress.

I have ordered the Geo AFR sump...15 week lead time. I think I’m more excited about the sump than the tank!

tank is being ordered tomorrow. Boy was that a hassle. The 30” stand wouldn’t fit through the door so I had to have a custom 2 piece stand that can be built on site.

the tank and stand are about a 6 week lead time.

I have run electrical and also put up PVC walls

52CEEBC3-8BCC-4940-8A2A-07ED9CEF0515.jpeg


I also purchased 2 65 gallon water containers from a local reefer that was getting out of the hobby.

EDBC65A3-42AC-47CB-8B72-0ED24BD033BB.jpeg

Just running some RO water through it to clean it out. I quickly found out my water burns through DI very quickly. Went through a whole anion cartridge in 60 gallons.

the TDS goinginto my RO system is 950 TDS. Coming into the DI resin is 14TDS. I think I have High CO2 in my water. I ordered a test, just waiting for the kit to come in. If I do, I plan to build a degassing chamber or I’ll be spending a fortune on DI resin.
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Got my CO2 test kit...I have almost 95PPM CO2. That is very high from my understanding. I am in the process of building a 4ft high degassing chamber.

I have already purchased all of the PVC piping that is required. I am waiting for the XP Aqua RO/DO Flood protector to come in so that I dont flood my house out the top of the degassing chamber. Hoping to have this built by the weekend.
 
Zoanthids
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Built my degassing chamber.

D25A4A51-1981-4B47-831B-C870B07D3F59.jpeg

Did a leak test today, but haven’t hooked it up to the RO system yet.

It holds about 2 gallons of water.

I am using 2 air stones which I think will provide ample oxygen to degas.

I tested the XP Aqua RO buddy and it worked as expected turning water off when the tank got full.

I will be hooking it up to my RODI system tomorrow. Hoping for good results!

I am really hoping this helps with my DI usage or this will get really expensive!
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Question for people out there.

What is everyone’s thoughts on an ATO container? Should I have a separate dedicated ATO container, hook up my rodi directly to my tank or just use the water in the 65 gallon RODI container from my mixing station?

What do other people do?
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Ran into issues with the degasser. The Xperia aqua doesn’t work as expected. Once it turns off, it has to be manually turned back on. I didn’t realize that when I got it.

The degasser is overflowing due to me making more water than gravity can push through my 4 DI stages.

I’m going to try and replace the xp Aqua with either a tunze ro contoller or the spectra pure ro contoller to stop the over flow and also get a aquatec 5800 delivery pump to pump the water from the degasser to the DI resin.

This is turning out to be a bigger project than expected!
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
I think my water saga is finally complete. I have setup my degasser with the 5800 pump and my DI resin has lasted over 50 gallons with almost no color change!

Below is my full setup
IMG_2451.jpg


It isn't pretty yet, but I wanted to do a proof of concept before I made the cabling look pretty. On the left you can see a 44 gallon brute trashcan that hold the aerated water. In the brute trashcan I have another airstone to reduce the CO2 down even further. After about 5 minutes in the brute trashcan the CO2 is down to below 10PPM vs the 95PPM I have coming in.

Closer look at the degasser.
IMG_2452.jpg


Below you can see my demand pump sitting on the drinking water storage container. It pumps the CO2 depleted water from the brute to the DI resin at about .5gpm, but I seem to be getting less than that. My DI resin seems to be lasting a lot longer now and the speed at which I am pumping into the resin doesn't seem to be impacting its performance as I am still getting 0 TDS coming out of the anion stage.
IMG_2453.jpg


Now on to actually getting the tank. I am hoping to get the tank sometime in mid November and the sump sometime in January...the waiting game begins...
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
So my tank is coming in in about 2-3 weeks, but my sump is still 2 months out. Has anyone setup a temporary sump using a brute trash can just to get the water flowing while they cycle the tank and then plum the real sump when it arrives?
 
Zoanthids.com
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Decided to get a 40 breeder for a temp sump from Petco’s dollar gallon sale!

9A93A991-39A3-48DF-BCAB-5F5DF19A2005.jpeg
Afterwards I plan on using it as my QT system.
Two birds, one stone!

Next week will be huge. I plan on going hog wild on Black Friday sales. Hopefully then the tank will arriving the following weekend and I can start making real progress.
 

GBRsouth

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
744
Reaction score
1,947
Location
N.S.W. AUSTRALIA
Decided to get a 40 breeder for a temp sump from Petco’s dollar gallon sale!

9A93A991-39A3-48DF-BCAB-5F5DF19A2005.jpeg
Afterwards I plan on using it as my QT system.
Two birds, one stone!

Next week will be huge. I plan on going hog wild on Black Friday sales. Hopefully then the tank will arriving the following weekend and I can start making real progress.

This is a better idea than the brute. Easier to plumb!
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Since my tank is still being made, I have a lot of time to think about everything. I was looking at using a CO2 scrubber. I have a CO2 monitor in the area where the tank will be and it shows 542ppm. I read outdoors is around 400. What CO2 levels do others see that makes a scrubber more necessary to keep pH up?
 
Galactic Coral Live Sale

GBRsouth

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 9, 2017
Messages
744
Reaction score
1,947
Location
N.S.W. AUSTRALIA
Since my tank is still being made, I have a lot of time to think about everything. I was looking at using a CO2 scrubber. I have a CO2 monitor in the area where the tank will be and it shows 542ppm. I read outdoors is around 400. What CO2 levels do others see that makes a scrubber more necessary to keep pH up?

I'm not sure how many people directly monitor CO2. I think most just monitor pH levels to see effects of CO2 scrubbers or other methods of controlling CO2.
 
OP
Y

yman182

Active Member
View Badges
Marketplace Rating
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
166
Reaction score
149
Location
Chicago
Making a little progress now.

I had a 60x30x7 inch stand made by alumifab for my water changing station. I also started some plumbing.

I picked up a cor-20 from marine depot when they had it for $279 earlier in the week. It will be used as the backup to my main pumps in case one fails.


53D2178E-D664-4A81-9BE5-D8456F1814B4.jpeg
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

WOULD YOU CONSIDER YOUR TANK TO HAVE A HEAVILY, MODERATELY OR LIGHTLY STOCKED CORAL BIO-LOAD?

  • Heavy Coral Load

    Votes: 76 20.9%
  • Moderate Coral Load

    Votes: 130 35.8%
  • Light Coral Load

    Votes: 145 39.9%
  • Other

    Votes: 12 3.3%

New Posts

MAXSPECT
Top