Red Sea Mature Starter Kit issue with water values

Gabbone

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys,

This is my first post ever :oops: sorry for any dumb questions!

I am new to Reef World and I've started my first cycle in a blue marine 30g tank with a back AIO sump.

I've bought the Red Sea Mature Starter Kit and I've been following the day-by-day guide.

Right now I am on Day 10 where I am supposed to have the following readings:

- Ammonia: 0ppm
- Nitrite: 0ppm
- Nitrate: 10ppm

That's what I currently have (everything has been tested twice to be sure):

- Ammonia: 1ppm
- Nitrite: 0.2ppm
- Nitrate: 35ppm
- Dkh: 11 (I am using Red Sea Coral Pro Salt which has high Dkh, so I am not adding their Kh-Coralline Gro buffer as asked in their day-by-day guide to raise the Dkh level)
- Ph: 7.6 - 7.8
- Temp: 78.8 f (26celsius)
- Salinity: 1.022 / 1.023

Very important takeaways:

- After 10 days, my skimmer seems to have not broken in yet. No actual foam, but just very little bubbles or very big ones. It goes a bit crazy sometimes (Just once it made a consistent foam for a couple of hours). I usually put it off during the night to avoid overflow from the collector cup.
- I haven't used wet rocks / live rocks but dry Real Reef Rocks.
- According to their guide, I am supposed to have algae, and diatoms around day 5 but still nothing at day 10.
- Until days 7-8 I've never registered Nitrite. This is actually the first time.
- Funny that If you look at their "Day 3", I am supposed to have:
- Ammonia 1ppm
- Nitrite 0.1ppm
- Nitrate 36ppm
So it seems that their Day 3 looks like my Day 10.

Am I crazy, or am I messing up everything? I am kind of scared!

Could you maybe help me? Thanks to everyone in advance!!! And happy reefing!!!

IMG_0351.jpg

Hugs from Italy,
Gabbonez

Last edited:

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMHO the people that wrote the Red Sea kit instructions are way off base.