RedSea Reefer S-1000 Build

OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Yikes and Godspeed!

Marine Depot liquidation had, and may still have, the 40W Aqua UV for 40% off. I snagged one two days ago for my S-1000 build later this year.
It's sort of the best and worst case scenario. On the upside, I was able to catch all the fish, nobody has died, and moving forward the tank will be full of only QT'd fish. Had this happened when the tank was almost fully stocked it would have been dramatically worse
 
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
That’s so frustrating. I am dealing with the same thing. Never had an issue until I added an Achilles. Then it all went out the window.
Yea it really is but at this point im just glad I was able to get ahead of it. And going forward this shouldn't ever be an issue again. I knew I should have QT but the tank was set up with fish I got years ago that never went through QT, so my logic was even if i QT new fish, its useless if the old fish werent. Now im able to change paths and go full QT, plus UV as a backup
 

smariner007

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
19
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Got the scape basically done. This is before adding the E-Marcos cement. After the cement goes on I’ll glue rock dust/sand over it to hide it and make it look like it does below
86CC1BE8-C69F-42E8-AC13-0AF1F6A402B3.jpeg
E6C7ED2A-9D12-4CEF-8544-0E6C774E6335.jpeg
0553091D-391D-48D3-8644-86262B21B611.jpeg
9BFEC6D2-5995-41EE-BF4F-B9F6D14E4CD8.jpeg
933846C2-97FA-4D0E-A9BD-650B9A64BFE7.jpeg
D4FD6B2C-33EF-431B-BC91-B98288F02835.jpeg
B1FAB6A3-D854-4686-8FAE-3292F4C73232.jpeg
Awesome, can you provide links to where which glue you used along with which cement you used? I'm hopefully getting the S-850 and want to do a similar rock style! Thank you so much for your great photos!
 

sprungson

Anemone Lover
View Badges
Joined
May 20, 2019
Messages
596
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Well I added a powder brown tang a few days ago and unfortunately had an ich break out. None of my fish had ever been through a QT and this was the first new fish I added to the S-1000. So I decided the best thing I can do for the ones I have now and for all the future live stock is to start a strict QT and fallow period. I picked up a 55g tank, HOB filter, air stones, heater, instant ocean salt(didn’t want to waste using brightwell neomarine on a QT) and some PVC and set it up following Humble fish’s process. The display will be fallow for 90 days(76 is usually the normal time but the extra 2 weeks just ensures every last trace of disease is gone). Last night I drained the display down into brute cans, moved corals into the sand bed to keep them under water, caught all the fish, transferred them to QT and refilled the display. Hopefully I didn’t shock the corals or fish to much. Time will tell. But moving forward all fish will either be QT by me or purchased from Marine Collectors. I will also be installing a UV at some point during the fallow period as a back up moving forward in case any drop of infected water makes it into the display.
A1864323-D7CA-453E-BCC7-9B7652E06C03.jpeg
12A7F39F-4C54-4D1C-A840-631B1819966D.jpeg
6FC7E347-3742-46DF-8B3B-E0D4E940F3C5.jpeg
My tank has ich but healthy fish has been able to live with it. Whenever one gets stressed and ich spots show, I increase my feeding and their immune system takes care of it.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Awesome, can you provide links to where which glue you used along with which cement you used? I'm hopefully getting the S-850 and want to do a similar rock style! Thank you so much for your great photos!
I used Bob smith industries super thick and thin glue. It’s on Amazon. And e-Marco cement from BRS.
 
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
My tank has ich but healthy fish has been able to live with it. Whenever one gets stressed and ich spots show, I increase my feeding and their immune system takes care of it.
Since I didn’t have to much livestock and want to introduce a lot more in the future it just made sense to treat them. QT will handle a lot more then ich and it’s just a headache I’ll hopefully never have to deal with later.
 
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Awesome, can you provide links to where which glue you used along with which cement you used? I'm hopefully getting the S-850 and want to do a similar rock style! Thank you so much for your great photos!
Bob Smith Industries Maxi-Cure Extra Thick CA Refill (8oz) (1) (1)
BSI Bob Smith 152 Insta Set Accelerator, 8 oz.

Bob Smith Industries Insta-Cure Super Thin CA Refill 8oz
 
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Well the powder brown tang died in QT this afternoon. Not surprised, he was sick for longer then I wanted while I set up the QT and transferee everyone. The rest of the fish are all looking good in QT. My blue throat trigger was looking really bad the day I transferred him and all his spots are completely gone.
DD78312A-CB09-420D-95A9-AD6DA8CF6A58.jpeg
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
So far QT has been a bit of a roller coaster. Everything started out really well but I have unfortunately lost 3 fish. One of my biggest concerns was ammonia control. Starting a QT for 9 fish at once presented a significant challenge. Especially with some of the fish already showing signs of disease. I lost my Yellow Tang, Blue throat trigger, and Coral Beauty angel. I came back from a week of travel to see noticeable ammonia burn on the trigger and tang. I started dosing Prime and doing big water changes to help keep it under control. Unfortunately I was to late to save those 2. All the other fish are still doing well and ammonia has been controlled for a couple weeks now. Hopefully the remainder of the QT goes well.
 

bobyboy

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
663
Reaction score
162
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
where did you get the white cable covers/organizers?
for the gate valve replacement, what size was the adapter that you used?
32 or 40mm?
what size return line did you use?
 
Last edited:
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
where did you get the white cable covers/organizers?
for the gate valve replacement, what size was the adapter that you used?
32 or 40mm?
what size return line did you use?
Cable Raceways were from amazon, I used a 1.25" Gate Valve, here is what I ordered to make the conversion.

1629244772867.png


As for the return I used 3/4" tubing. It took some work but it fit.
 
Fritz
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Sucks about the qt issue. It seems like when ever you go on vacation with a reef tank something goes wrong not matter what.
Yea it really sucks but all the other fish seem to be doing fine now, and as much as it sucks to lose them I am still glad I jumped into the QT game when I only had a few fish. If this same issue happened when the tank is full it would have been a nightmare
 

bobyboy

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
663
Reaction score
162
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Cable Raceways were from amazon, I used a 1.25" Gate Valve, here is what I ordered to make the conversion.

1629244772867.png


As for the return I used 3/4" tubing. It took some work but it fit.
Thanks for the info, so a 40mm to 1.25" for the drain is what is needed.
 
Last edited:
OP
bdouglas119

bdouglas119

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
327
Reaction score
566
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Thanks for the info, so a 40mm to 1.25" for the drain.
Yep, you don't need the union(its nice to have) but you do need the coupler for the adaptor to work. Then I picked up some 1.25" elbows, pipe, and gate valve. to make it look like as clean as the stock drain. There are some pictures earlier on in the thread.
 

bobyboy

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 28, 2013
Messages
663
Reaction score
162
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Nj
Yep, you don't need the union(its nice to have) but you do need the coupler for the adaptor to work. Then I picked up some 1.25" elbows, pipe, and gate valve. to make it look like as clean as the stock drain. There are some pictures earlier on in the thread.
I saw those and it really was a clean setup. Right now I am debating about relocating the sump to the basement vs setting it up in the stand, either way I'll need the parts.
 
AS

PICK the Most Tested & Least Tested Parameters of your Tank (Pick 2)

  • Calcium (most)

    Votes: 47 6.3%
  • Alkalinity (most)

    Votes: 523 69.5%
  • Magnesium (most)

    Votes: 6 0.8%
  • Phosphate (most)

    Votes: 71 9.4%
  • PH (most)

    Votes: 72 9.6%
  • Nitrate (most)

    Votes: 76 10.1%
  • Nitrite (most)

    Votes: 6 0.8%
  • Ammonia (most)

    Votes: 21 2.8%
  • (least) Calcium

    Votes: 11 1.5%
  • (least) Alkalinity

    Votes: 4 0.5%
  • (least) Magnesium

    Votes: 72 9.6%
  • (least) Phosphate

    Votes: 15 2.0%
  • (least) PH

    Votes: 40 5.3%
  • (least) Nitrate

    Votes: 13 1.7%
  • (least) Nitrite

    Votes: 210 27.9%
  • (least) Ammonia

    Votes: 282 37.5%
AAF
Top