reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

Orbela

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
215
Reaction score
58
If anybody can help me I am sort of struggling to get my power relay to work.
I heard clicking and then channel 3 started to work then stopped then Channel 6 started to work. Now nothing works. I am lost. I check all connection were not lose and I double checked I didn’t have any cold solder. What I am thinking might be an issue is the connection between my raspberry pi and the perma hat. I am new was I suppose to solder them together or use the provide connection?

51D07E41-5E64-41E6-A5FE-FB03DD41DA66.jpeg 81634EB7-7582-4D24-99BE-7DA59FB8DF5D.jpeg 072AB09C-E77C-41FF-879D-C85A6F872757.jpeg 4771F817-3066-45A3-9196-6275021F18CC.jpeg
 

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,643
Reaction score
2,188
Location
Columbia MD
float switch are input (inlet), and can not be used with pca9685. You can use it for relay other than raw pwm, thats what it means. I have not tested it yet. its basically 100% duty cycle pwm.

I actually forgot you can use the same float inlet for multiple rules. I just made a test macro that disables the ATO and enables/disables the rules then re-enables ATO. No need for another float switch :)
 

Orbela

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
215
Reaction score
58
Thanks for the help it was my Raspberry pi connection with my pi hat not fully inserted. Now just adjust my gpio channels. Thsnks again.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,363
Reaction score
14,858
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
If anybody can help me I am sort of struggling to get my power relay to work.
I heard clicking and then channel 3 started to work then stopped then Channel 6 started to work. Now nothing works. I am lost. I check all connection were not lose and I double checked I didn’t have any cold solder. What I am thinking might be an issue is the connection between my raspberry pi and the perma hat. I am new was I suppose to solder them together or use the provide connection?

51D07E41-5E64-41E6-A5FE-FB03DD41DA66.jpeg 81634EB7-7582-4D24-99BE-7DA59FB8DF5D.jpeg 072AB09C-E77C-41FF-879D-C85A6F872757.jpeg 4771F817-3066-45A3-9196-6275021F18CC.jpeg
With reef-pi running, switch on/off the corresponding outlet and take voltage readings across pi gpio, perma proto /uln input pins and finally on the db9 connector pins. remember from uln onward multi meter black probe goes on to uln/db9 pins and red probe goes to 12 v. See where the voltage readings are not as expected . It will be easier if you have a dedicated thread, we are likely to loose context in this thread.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,363
Reaction score
14,858
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Thanksgiving is approaching, and i am thinking about 4.0 release. It has been very hectic and i have not been able to push a lot of code as expected, lately. I am thinking whether to do a 4.0 release or skip it. Technically we dont have to have a major version release, since there no breaking changes. But historically it has been a tradition to do yearly reef-pi release during thanksgiving, hence the dilemma.

I am thinking of wrapping up some minor bugs and polish documentation and cut a release (4.0 ?) , if we want stick to the tradition. We did have quiet a few changes across the board (new features, drivers, bug fixes etc) encompassing 3->4 development, but most of those have been already incrementally shipped.

Let me know what you all think
 
Corals.com

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
301
Reaction score
369
Thanksgiving is approaching, and i am thinking about 4.0 release. It has been very hectic and i have not been able to push a lot of code as expected, lately. I am thinking whether to do a 4.0 release or skip it. Technically we dont have to have a major version release, since there no breaking changes. But historically it has been a tradition to do yearly reef-pi release during thanksgiving, hence the dilemma.

I am thinking of wrapping up some minor bugs and polish documentation and cut a release (4.0 ?) , if we want stick to the tradition. We did have quiet a few changes across the board (new features, drivers, bug fixes etc) encompassing 3->4 development, but most of those have been already incrementally shipped.

Let me know what you all think

How about a full set of sliders for the lighting, that would really polish it off especially for those of use that use multiple channels, you'd be able to adjust the peak spectrum to your taste or par meter quite quickly. Maybe clouds and lightning feature for novelty?
 

dmolavi

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
479
Reaction score
623
Location
United States
Thanksgiving is approaching, and i am thinking about 4.0 release. It has been very hectic and i have not been able to push a lot of code as expected, lately. I am thinking whether to do a 4.0 release or skip it. Technically we dont have to have a major version release, since there no breaking changes. But historically it has been a tradition to do yearly reef-pi release during thanksgiving, hence the dilemma.

I am thinking of wrapping up some minor bugs and polish documentation and cut a release (4.0 ?) , if we want stick to the tradition. We did have quiet a few changes across the board (new features, drivers, bug fixes etc) encompassing 3->4 development, but most of those have been already incrementally shipped.

Let me know what you all think

Traditions are made to be broken. Don't release something "just because". If there are enough new features to warrant a 4.0, then release it. Otherwise, do a 3.6 or 3.5.1 if it's just a minor bugfix, etc.
 

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,643
Reaction score
2,188
Location
Columbia MD
Agree, I have some minor bugs with the most recent release but nothing major. The temp probe issue is only with my iPhone

FD08ABF0-D2B9-492E-9402-8E5223513CD1.jpeg

And the log fills up with errors when telemetry is active but still reporting just fine to adafruit.

D1F8B46C-F098-41DC-B60C-8D1A97D38ED9.jpeg

Other than those it’s smooth sailing.
I would rather see big updates in a new release like controllable widgets in the dashboard, ability to organize/hide equipment switches, addition of new drivers, etc. but I’m not complaining. Reefpi has been amazing over the past years.
 

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
301
Reaction score
369
Agree, I have some minor bugs with the most recent release but nothing major. The temp probe issue is only with my iPhone

FD08ABF0-D2B9-492E-9402-8E5223513CD1.jpeg

And the log fills up with errors when telemetry is active but still reporting just fine to adafruit.

D1F8B46C-F098-41DC-B60C-8D1A97D38ED9.jpeg

Other than those it’s smooth sailing.
I would rather see big updates in a new release like controllable widgets in the dashboard, ability to organize/hide equipment switches, addition of new drivers, etc. but I’m not complaining. Reefpi has been amazing over the past years.

I also get that temperature sensor error, though I believe it maybe the sdcard maybe corrupted, I'm not sure if you can fix errors like you can in Windows, the problem exists in android and also windows for me. My error seems to have occurred during a power cut a couple of weeks ago when my battery backup ran out of juice.
 

dmolavi

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
479
Reaction score
623
Location
United States
I also get that temperature sensor error, though I believe it maybe the sdcard maybe corrupted, I'm not sure if you can fix errors like you can in Windows, the problem exists in android and also windows for me. My error seems to have occurred during a power cut a couple of weeks ago when my battery backup ran out of juice.

That's the same error on the temp probe page I get. The values are still showing on the dashboard though.
 

Mandelstam

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 29, 2017
Messages
685
Reaction score
1,103
Location
Malmö, Sweden
I have an issue with my relay board. Two channels got stuck in "ON" after like 20 seconds of running. Not much current or anything. I assume it's due to micro welding inside the relay or something. And I guess that's what you get when using cheap boards from China...
I'll be switching over to smart plugs instead.
I guess I just wanted to give people a heads up. I'm happy it happened while I was setting the equipment up, otherwise the pump could have been stuck on for hours instead of seconds...
 

ChrisNH

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
294
Reaction score
238
Thanksgiving is approaching, and i am thinking about 4.0 release.

Let me know what you all think

The only thing I am on the edge of my seat for is fixes to how the dashboard is displaying graphs. if we could get a 3.x that resolve that I would be content.
 

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
301
Reaction score
369
I have an issue with my relay board. Two channels got stuck in "ON" after like 20 seconds of running. Not much current or anything. I assume it's due to micro welding inside the relay or something. And I guess that's what you get when using cheap boards from China...
I'll be switching over to smart plugs instead.
I guess I just wanted to give people a heads up. I'm happy it happened while I was setting the equipment up, otherwise the pump could have been stuck on for hours instead of seconds...
Tap the relay with a screwdriver handle, sometimes the relays stick, I'm going to design a PCB with solid state relays, hopefully, I've had two Chinese boards fail within either a few months or just over a year, right now I have a board made here in India, works well but is so flimsy, holes for standoffs are pin holes, too much crap made for a budget, right now mine is working at least 7 out of 8 channels. Not touching it until I make my own working PCB.
 

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
301
Reaction score
369
what fix? my 3.5 dashboard shows graphs just fine (for temp at least)

Mine are fine too, what I would like to see is the lighting on a single graph with the designated colours to give a better picture of the setup.
 

Zippyfear

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
85
Reaction score
151
Thanksgiving is approaching, and i am thinking about 4.0 release. It has been very hectic and i have not been able to push a lot of code as expected, lately. I am thinking whether to do a 4.0 release or skip it. Technically we dont have to have a major version release, since there no breaking changes. But historically it has been a tradition to do yearly reef-pi release during thanksgiving, hence the dilemma.

I am thinking of wrapping up some minor bugs and polish documentation and cut a release (4.0 ?) , if we want stick to the tradition. We did have quiet a few changes across the board (new features, drivers, bug fixes etc) encompassing 3->4 development, but most of those have been already incrementally shipped.

Let me know what you all think

I say if you get the graph scaling fixed.. let's call it 4.0!
 

Mandelstam

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 29, 2017
Messages
685
Reaction score
1,103
Location
Malmö, Sweden
Tap the relay with a screwdriver handle, sometimes the relays stick, I'm going to design a PCB with solid state relays, hopefully, I've had two Chinese boards fail within either a few months or just over a year, right now I have a board made here in India, works well but is so flimsy, holes for standoffs are pin holes, too much crap made for a budget, right now mine is working at least 7 out of 8 channels. Not touching it until I make my own working PCB.

Yes I know I could probably tap them and get them working again but I don't trust them anymore haha! If it was controlling something like a light I could live with the risk but not this...
 

Mandelstam

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 29, 2017
Messages
685
Reaction score
1,103
Location
Malmö, Sweden
I have a timer issue with a HS-100 smart plug (Kasa).

It works fine manually switching it on and off. But when I set up a timer (turn on for 15 seconds every 4th hour) it does what it's supposed to for the 15 seconds but then gets stuck switching the plug on for like a 1/10 seconds every second.

I'm not sure if it's a Reef-Pi thing or not but it feels like it. Anyone had similar issues?

Here's the timer I set up (currently disabled)
1604952310961.png
 

Freccialata

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
46
Reaction score
91
Thanksgiving is approaching, and i am thinking about 4.0 release. It has been very hectic and i have not been able to push a lot of code as expected, lately. I am thinking whether to do a 4.0 release or skip it. Technically we dont have to have a major version release, since there no breaking changes. But historically it has been a tradition to do yearly reef-pi release during thanksgiving, hence the dilemma.

I am thinking of wrapping up some minor bugs and polish documentation and cut a release (4.0 ?) , if we want stick to the tradition. We did have quiet a few changes across the board (new features, drivers, bug fixes etc) encompassing 3->4 development, but most of those have been already incrementally shipped.

Let me know what you all think
You are the boss... and the boss decides what he wants!!! ;-)

Are you going to integrate tasmota drivers in the next release?
 
Last edited:
Top Shelf Aquatics

Do you have a little reefing side hustle that helps you earn money to put back into your hobby?

  • Yes

    Votes: 98 19.7%
  • No

    Votes: 186 37.4%
  • Not yet but want to

    Votes: 205 41.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 8 1.6%

Online statistics

Members online
2,034
Guests online
4,880
Total visitors
6,914
Aqua SD
Top