reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,037
Reaction score
5,610
Location
Richmond, Va
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am at a loss on what I am doing wrong on my Prometheus build.

I have been following the guide located here http://www.d3noob.org/2020/02/installing-prometheus-and-grafana-on.html

Here is my config file

scrape_configs:
# The job name is added as a label `job=<job_name>` to any timeseries scraped from this config.
- job_name: 'prometheus'

metrics_path: /x/metrics
# scheme defaults to 'http'.

static_configs:
- targets: ['CichlidTank.local']

Here is the looping error I get when running
sudo systemctl start prometheus
sudo systemctl status prometheus

● prometheus.service - Prometheus Server
Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/prometheus.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: failed (Result: signal) since Wed 2020-11-04 00:21:03 EST; 3s ago
Docs: https://prometheus.io/docs/introduction/overview/
Process: 1452 ExecStart=/home/pi/prometheus/prometheus --config.file=/home/pi/prometheus/prometheus.yml
Main PID: 1452 (code=killed, signal=ILL)

Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Service RestartSec=100ms expired, scheduling r
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Scheduled restart job, restart counter is at 5
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: Stopped Prometheus Server.
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Start request repeated too quickly.
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Failed with result 'signal'.
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: Failed to start Prometheus Server.

Can't find a guide so if anyone has one that helped them please drop a link! I have been doing raspberry pi project for 6ish years and I still feel like a noob.
 

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,037
Reaction score
5,610
Location
Richmond, Va
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bumping for help....

under targets I have also tried the following and can't figure out whats wrong

192.xxx.xxx.xxx
CichlidTank.local
192.xxx.xxx.xxx:9090
CichlidTank.local:9090
localhost:9090
CichlidTank:9090

Nothing is found when I navigate to 192.xxx.xxx.xxx:9090/targets or any of previous combinations

Edit: I think I found my issue. Pi zero is Armv6 not armv7 like the pi 3 which I have been working with previously.
 
Last edited:

PHopkins

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
6
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I seem to have a weird issue. If I reset my router, the address of my reef-pi changes. Then I have to pull it all apart to hook up a monitor to find the new one so I can access it.
 

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,037
Reaction score
5,610
Location
Richmond, Va
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Weird. I know for my internet company the only way to get a static IP is to pay. Mine doesn't reset the IP address unless I update route firmware or something. Use a hostname which should help for the most part
 

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
360
Reaction score
397
Location
Sweden
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I seem to have a weird issue. If I reset my router, the address of my reef-pi changes. Then I have to pull it all apart to hook up a monitor to find the new one so I can access it.

You can set the pi's Mac address in your router settings and assign a permanent IP address, takes a couple of minutes only. For example mine is always 192.168.0.3 even if I switch the router off or have a power cut.
 

PHopkins

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
6
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can set the pi's Mac address in your router settings and assign a permanent IP address, takes a couple of minutes only. For example mine is always 192.168.0.3 even if I switch the router off or have a power cut.

Can I do that through my laptop or will i have to do it through my PI?
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am at a loss on what I am doing wrong on my Prometheus build.

I have been following the guide located here http://www.d3noob.org/2020/02/installing-prometheus-and-grafana-on.html

Here is my config file

scrape_configs:
# The job name is added as a label `job=<job_name>` to any timeseries scraped from this config.
- job_name: 'prometheus'

metrics_path: /x/metrics
# scheme defaults to 'http'.

static_configs:
- targets: ['CichlidTank.local']

Here is the looping error I get when running
sudo systemctl start prometheus
sudo systemctl status prometheus

● prometheus.service - Prometheus Server
Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/prometheus.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: failed (Result: signal) since Wed 2020-11-04 00:21:03 EST; 3s ago
Docs: https://prometheus.io/docs/introduction/overview/
Process: 1452 ExecStart=/home/pi/prometheus/prometheus --config.file=/home/pi/prometheus/prometheus.yml
Main PID: 1452 (code=killed, signal=ILL)

Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Service RestartSec=100ms expired, scheduling r
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Scheduled restart job, restart counter is at 5
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: Stopped Prometheus Server.
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Start request repeated too quickly.
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: prometheus.service: Failed with result 'signal'.
Nov 04 00:21:03 CichlidTank systemd[1]: Failed to start Prometheus Server.

Can't find a guide so if anyone has one that helped them please drop a link! I have been doing raspberry pi project for 6ish years and I still feel like a noob.
whats the output of `journalctl -u prometheus.service` ? there might be some issues with the configuration (yaml file)
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bumping for help....

under targets I have also tried the following and can't figure out whats wrong

192.xxx.xxx.xxx
CichlidTank.local
192.xxx.xxx.xxx:9090
CichlidTank.local:9090
localhost:9090
CichlidTank:9090

Nothing is found when I navigate to 192.xxx.xxx.xxx:9090/targets or any of previous combinations

Edit: I think I found my issue. Pi zero is Armv6 not armv7 like the pi 3 which I have been working with previously.
can you post your yaml file. i dont think these 9090 stuff are valid yaml
 

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,037
Reaction score
5,610
Location
Richmond, Va
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
can you post your yaml file. i dont think these 9090 stuff are valid yaml
The primary issue with it not loading was because I downloaded the wrong version (arm7 instead of armv6 for a pi zero). The 9090 thing I got by trying to follow the guide here https://www.mytinydc.com/en/blog/prometheus-grafana-installation/

I think my main issue is resolved and now I just have to figure out how to actually use prometheus/grafana so I can use it for my MagicMirror.
 

Orbela

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
216
Reaction score
60
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Ranjib I am building my set up. My DJ-8 doesn’t seem to be responding. What can I check to troubleshoot? On Facebook someone suggested to check my signal and power sufficient. What can be wrong?
 

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
360
Reaction score
397
Location
Sweden
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Ranjib I am building my set up. My DJ-8 doesn’t seem to be responding. What can I check to troubleshoot? On Facebook someone suggested to check my signal and power sufficient. What can be wrong?
Check that your grounds are tied, also check that your PSU to the relays is sufficient...
 

Orbela

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
216
Reaction score
60
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Check that your grounds are tied, also check that your PSU to the relays is sufficient...
Thanks for response
So I checked and I am getting 12v on the connectors pins
the GPIO 27-22 an 12, 6,14 I am reading 0v

392D6BE2-DB3A-4404-BAFD-002CF20D8623.jpeg
 
Last edited:

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,037
Reaction score
5,610
Location
Richmond, Va
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
can you post your yaml file. i dont think these 9090 stuff are valid yaml


# my global config
global:
scrape_interval: 15s # Set the scrape interval to every 15 seconds. Defau$
evaluation_interval: 15s # Evaluate rules every 15 seconds. The default is ev$
# scrape_timeout is set to the global default (10s).

# Alertmanager configuration
alerting:
alertmanagers:
- static_configs:
- targets:
# - alertmanager:9093

# Load rules once and periodically evaluate them according to the global 'evalu$
rule_files:
# - "first_rules.yml"
# - "second_rules.yml"

# A scrape configuration containing exactly one endpoint to scrape:
# Here it's Prometheus itself.
scrape_configs:
# The job name is added as a label `job=<job_name>` to any timeseries scraped$
- job_name: 'prometheus'

metrics_path: /x/metrics
# scheme defaults to 'http'.

static_configs:
- targets: ['192.168.xxx.xxx']

Here is my config and I am trying to access from a different raspberry pi so the IP is the IP of the reef-pi . Every guide I have found uses a port to access the webpage which is the reason for the 9090. Anyone have a solid guide that is fairly 1-1?
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for response
So I checked and I am getting 12v on the connectors pins
the GPIO 27-22 an 12, 6,14 I am reading 0v

392D6BE2-DB3A-4404-BAFD-002CF20D8623.jpeg
Those are sinking pins. When you are testing make sure you connect multimeter +ve to the 12v power pin, and multimeter gnd(black) to the uln28003 pins,
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,843
Reaction score
17,058
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
# my global config
global:
scrape_interval: 15s # Set the scrape interval to every 15 seconds. Defau$
evaluation_interval: 15s # Evaluate rules every 15 seconds. The default is ev$
# scrape_timeout is set to the global default (10s).

# Alertmanager configuration
alerting:
alertmanagers:
- static_configs:
- targets:
# - alertmanager:9093

# Load rules once and periodically evaluate them according to the global 'evalu$
rule_files:
# - "first_rules.yml"
# - "second_rules.yml"

# A scrape configuration containing exactly one endpoint to scrape:
# Here it's Prometheus itself.
scrape_configs:
# The job name is added as a label `job=<job_name>` to any timeseries scraped$
- job_name: 'prometheus'

metrics_path: /x/metrics
# scheme defaults to 'http'.

static_configs:
- targets: ['192.168.xxx.xxx']

Here is my config and I am trying to access from a different raspberry pi so the IP is the IP of the reef-pi . Every guide I have found uses a port to access the webpage which is the reason for the 9090. Anyone have a solid guide that is fairly 1-1?
So , Prometheus is running now ? Do you have grafana running as well ?
 

Orbela

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
216
Reaction score
60
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Those are sinking pins. When you are testing make sure you connect multimeter +ve to the 12v power pin, and multimeter gnd(black) to the uln28003 pins,
I tested the sinking pins and the matching uln2803 pins the in test 12.3v and the out tested at 0v can the uln2803 be faulty? I placed the + in the sinking pins and the gnd - on the 'in' and 'out' which the 'in' has 12.3v and the 'out' 0v. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks for the help

EC9E6E9D-A8EF-4709-8CC2-7C086A7D30B0.jpeg
 
Last edited:

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,673
Reaction score
2,241
Location
Columbia MD
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know it was discussed somewhere but I can’t find it. Right now my temp(recent) shows readings for the past 12 hours. Is there a way to change that to 24 or 48 hours?
 

Stuck to your aquarium: Do you put reef-related stickers on or around your reef system?

  • I have reef-related stickers everywhere!

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I have some reef-related stickers on or around my reef system.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I have some reef-related stickers, but not on my reef system.

    Votes: 1 50.0%
  • I don’t have reef-related stickers, but I am interested in getting some.

    Votes: 1 50.0%
  • I have no interest in reef-related stickers.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
Back
Top