reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

DanTheReefer

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Messages
35
Reaction score
22
Wondering if there is a limit to the number of kasa hs300s that can be paired to a reefpi? Got to hand it to you that the Kasa integration was a great idea, seems like the power control is the most tedious part of the build.
 
Corals.com
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,368
Reaction score
14,874
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Wondering if there is a limit to the number of kasa hs300s that can be paired to a reefpi? Got to hand it to you that the Kasa integration was a great idea, seems like the power control is the most tedious part of the build.
I am tested with 3 at a time.. i am not aware of any explicit limit in place, unless there's cpu/memory issues, which is highly unlikely. I don't know the upper limits, but it should be way beyond dozens..
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,368
Reaction score
14,874
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Id vote for a backup/test setup instead of replacing the zero. Whats working, should not be touched unless there's specific reason to do so :) . Having a backup setup that is tested with your existing build is best. reef-pi 4.0 will ship with db export/import capabilities, which will make swapping pi/sd cards even easier
 

dadarara

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
6
Location
Israel
This list compared to your larger list can be done on controller as is. You get the following to work with.

- 6 configurable sensor ports
- 7 DC ports (unidirectional 12v dosing pump or any other 12v DC device, speed can be adjusted in reef-pi for each, requires DC device to operate on range of voltages such as 6v-12v.)
- 1 auto feeder port (can be used as extra DC port)
- 3 DC ports have a backup float switch port (cuts power to DC port no matter what reef-pi says, great for ATO backup etc.)
- 16 outputs on two DB9's. These come straight from Pi so can be used for anything, my power bars connect to these. In next couple weeks I will have power bar alternatives so instead of AC outlets you can add more DC or sensor ports. I will also have a simple addon to replace the existing DB9s so you can still add 16 AC outlets, it'll have two DB9s.
- 8 outputs that can put out 0-5v or 0-10v PWM or 0-5v or 0-10v analog signal.

With DIY involved you can do everything as controller comes for your long list.
thanks
will be waiting for the new updated products.
I can do all DIY. and I do appreciate the notion of having modular design that allows easy fixing and changes by going FULL DIY. But in this case I think its better to start with some core module and build around it. of course this product appeals to a DIY guys like us anyhow. so it should be priced accordingly to be a good alternative to a FULL DIY.
my two cents ..
 
Corals.com

djent0000

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
USA
I have been looking at the instructions on Adafruit and for each part of the project, you need a raspberry pi hat. Are you able to fit multiple hats onto the raspberry pi or do you need a new raspberry pi every time you build a part of it?
 

NeonRabbit221B

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
1,181
Reaction score
1,948
Location
Harrisonburg, Va
I have been looking at the instructions on Adafruit and for each part of the project, you need a raspberry pi hat. Are you able to fit multiple hats onto the raspberry pi or do you need a new raspberry pi every time you build a part of it?
I put all of my wiring on a single hat. Its a bit cluttered but I did every module except lighting. Alternatives are pre-built hats that members here offer (e.x. leviathan)
 

djent0000

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Location
USA
I put all of my wiring on a single hat. Its a bit cluttered but I did every module except lighting. Alternatives are pre-built hats that members here offer (e.x. leviathan)
I don't like stuff being cluttered, so I was wondering if multiple reef pi hats can be stacked on top of each other.
I also do not want to use pre-built hats because I want the DIY experience.
 

NeonRabbit221B

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
1,181
Reaction score
1,948
Location
Harrisonburg, Va
I don't like stuff being cluttered, so I was wondering if multiple reef pi hats can be stacked on top of each other.
I also do not want to use pre-built hats because I want the DIY experience.
Yup as long as you check your wiring you can do it that way.
 

92Miata

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 26, 2020
Messages
956
Reaction score
1,382
Location
Richmond, VA
Is there any good documentation for the "Reef Pi PWM Frequency" setting, and the Dosing "Speed" setting? Things aren't working as I'd expect - and I'm trying to figure out what I don't understand.


Basically, I've got the PWM frequency set to 100, and I've got a stepper motor with 1.8 degrees step angle/200 steps (A4988 driver) . I've got the driver set to full steps.


My expectation was that at 100hz, and 200 steps needed, a revolution would take 2 seconds. Its running way faster than that (several revolutions per second). I'm also not 100% sure what the speed setting is doing - it won't run at 100%, but will run at anything else and as far as I can tell speed isn't varying visibly.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,368
Reaction score
14,874
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Is there any good documentation for the "Reef Pi PWM Frequency" setting, and the Dosing "Speed" setting? Things aren't working as I'd expect - and I'm trying to figure out what I don't understand.


Basically, I've got the PWM frequency set to 100, and I've got a stepper motor with 1.8 degrees step angle/200 steps (A4988 driver) . I've got the driver set to full steps.


My expectation was that at 100hz, and 200 steps needed, a revolution would take 2 seconds. Its running way faster than that (several revolutions per second). I'm also not 100% sure what the speed setting is doing - it won't run at 100%, but will run at anything else and as far as I can tell speed isn't varying visibly.
As you have noticed, reef-pi does not have straight forward way to configure stepper, in ways that you can control the precise pwm life cycle. The % value stands for duty_cycle. 100% means the entire duty_cycle,
 

92Miata

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 26, 2020
Messages
956
Reaction score
1,382
Location
Richmond, VA
As you have noticed, reef-pi does not have straight forward way to configure stepper, in ways that you can control the precise pwm life cycle. The % value stands for duty_cycle. 100% means the entire duty_cycle,
Alrighty - so it makes sense that the speed setting didn't make a difference - the stepper control works on the rising cycle and that's not changing.

Is the raspberry pi pwm frequency in the main configuration page actually hz? Or is it something else ?
 

DanTheReefer

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 2, 2019
Messages
35
Reaction score
22
Is it possible to use reefpi to PWM control a 20 VDC lighting system? If so do you recommend circuitry that includes an optical isolator to prevent the 20 from hitting the pi?
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,368
Reaction score
14,874
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Is it possible to use reefpi to PWM control a 20 VDC lighting system? If so do you recommend circuitry that includes an optical isolator to prevent the 20 from hitting the pi?
get an appropriate meanwell driver and connect pi pwm to that, and let meanwell supply the current to led,
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,368
Reaction score
14,874
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Alrighty - so it makes sense that the speed setting didn't make a difference - the stepper control works on the rising cycle and that's not changing.

Is the raspberry pi pwm frequency in the main configuration page actually hz? Or is it something else ?
hz
 

Freccialata

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
46
Reaction score
91
Hello everyone.
I have a problem.
I changed the way to access reef-pi from "http" to "https".
I didn't specify the address and the port... default is 0.0.0.0.
Now I can't access the webserver.

Should I reset the database or there is a way to "save" the configuration and access again to reef-pi?

Thank you in advance for your support.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
8,368
Reaction score
14,874
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
HTTPS://<pi>:80


Try that, just specify port 80 explicitly (with the colon ), along with https
 

drm2215

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
4
Location
Chicago
Hey Reef-Pi people,
I am having issues controlling my Kessil A160WE. I am able to manually adjust the two channels with the slider, and channel 1 is white and channel 2 is blue. My problem is that if I lower channel 2 below 10, both channels turn off? Channel 1 can go to zero and the channel 2 blue lights will stay on at what ever intensity its set to. Is this by design? Can you have White light without blue?
Additionally, I am wondering if anyone can speak to the TRRS adapter that came with my light? Is it required? Is there any benefit to using a TRRS cable and jack at the reef-pi?
TIA
 

Do you have a frag tank, frag rack or some other place for coral frags currently?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 111 44.2%
  • No

    Votes: 135 53.8%
  • Other

    Votes: 5 2.0%

Online statistics

Members online
2,388
Guests online
5,665
Total visitors
8,053
Top