Reefandthecurious’s170 reefer

Reefandthecurious

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi new to REEF2REEF.
I wanted somewhere that I could write down my progress and also learn how to keep a healthy thriving reef tank. Feel free to give any advice or suggestions.

I got the tank August 30 2018. I decided to go with the Redsea reefer 170 because it came with everything built in. Before choosing the reefer 170. I looked online and found a used tank with everything included for $700. I went to go see it and noticed that it had this weird smudges in the sides. I ask the owner what it was and he said it was silicone from fixing up a leak. That scared me off because since I’m new to the whole aquarium hobby. I didn’t want to risk building or buying a tank that may end up leaking or even worst cracking.

I wish I had taken more pictures of when I actually got the tank,set it up,etc but sadly I don’t. Fast forward to today and this is how my tank looks now.
GPTempDownload.jpg

I have all the cables for all the equipment plugged to a power bar but I don’t like how it looks any suggestions how I can make it look more organized?
GPTempDownload.jpg

I’m not too sure on the specific equipment names but here’s my how my sump looks
GPTempDownload.jpg

I’m following the mixed reef recipe Red Sea suggests on their website. So far I’ve only started dosing NoPox because I had little diotomes outbreak before. Im only testing nitrates since that’s what my lfs said to do. So right now I’m using Salifert nitrate test kit. I plan on buying more of the recipe in couple days. Do I need the whole recipe right away or can I wait until I test?

Water parameters:
Salinity 1.026
Nitrate 50ppm
Temp 78

I’m running Ai prime HD lights.

I have quite a lot livestock right now and was hoping to add maybe 1 or 2 more fishes.

Livestock:
4 clownfish
2 blue devil damsels
2 royal blue tangs
1 sea urchin
Snails
1 Emerald crab
1 Blue crab
1 sally light food crab
4 hermit crabs