RO/DI System Necessary??

Rupture Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, so I know how important good (perfect) water is for reef tanks, but I want to know if based on my circumstances if it makes sense to get an RO/DI system. I do have a chemical water purifier that eliminates chlorine, chloramine, and harmful metals, and I have been using this for about 5 months. I have a ricordea, and it's fine. I have good test kits, and three are my parameters:
Temp 79
SG: 1.025
Nitrate: 3
Phos: .3
pH: 8.2
Alk: 17
So everything is good except the Alk, would this be because of the water?
So should I stick to the chemical stuff and find a solution to my Alk problem, or should I switch to RO/DI?
Thanks

OP
OP
Rupture Reefer

Rupture Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You sure that Alk # isnt a testing error? Thats extremely high.

I think an RODI is essential in this hobby.
I thought it was a mistake at first too. I used the Salifert test. And both times, it was super high, above the highest 15.7 it has listed (so I did a different test which gave me 17). It is so weird. I did test my tap water, and it's Alk was 15, but still to be up at 17 is insane. Maybe it is because of the Aquavitro Eight Four I'm using for the pH.

Water Dog

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My curiosity is definitely piqued as to what this chemical water purifier is.

Greybeard

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lots of people, including myself, have run successful marine aquariums without owning an RO/DI. Some folks really do have good enough water quality that they just don't need one (rare, but it happens), some folks would rather carry buckets from the LFS (small tanks, I'd guess!), and some folks use a non-RO type filter (Culligan, etc). Even met a few that bought distilled water.