RO plumbing questions

Arsenix2001

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just moved to a house with well water and low PSI, 45. It is chewing through my DI resin in less than 30 gallons. Going to be testing water today but I wanted to plumb up a manifold with valves and use a booster pump and a few barrels. My idea was to filter RO water under booster pressure into a barrel with no DI, aerate it to remove CO2 overnight, then use booster pump to re filter it through the DI into barrel number 2 or 5 gal buckets. Will the aquatech 6800 draw from a static water source?

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert, but going through the DI resin in 30 gallons just seems wrong to me. I set up my RODI yesterday evening and so far I have made about 45 gallons of clean water and am just now starting to see the first sign of resin breakdown...

IMG_0349.JPG

Can you provide details on your system? Hard to diagnose an issue without knowing what the variables are.

HuduVudu

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert, but going through the DI resin in 30 gallons just seems wrong to me. I set up my RODI yesterday evening and so far I have made about 45 gallons of clean water and am just now starting to see the first sign of resin breakdown...
OP has a CO2 problem in his water. He is aware of the problem.

Will the aquatech 6800 draw from a static water source?
I am not sure booster pumps can draw on a static source, but I haven't tried.

I have seen many threads here on R2R about CO2 contaminated well water. Search and see some of the solutions. I quick general internet search gives some ideas also. A chamber with CaCO2 sand might yield results. Another avenue is to call BRS and ask them what they might suggest. Of course they are going to sell you something but it might give you some ideas.

FWIW :)

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0