Routing power cords behind wall?

Trey

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
92
Reaction score
23
Location
Brunswick, Ohio
Is there any reason why I wouldnt be able to route my light fixture power cables behind the wall and down to outlets behind the stand using brush wall plates such as these?
VCE Single Brush Wall Plate Cable Pass Through Insert for Wires, Single Gang Cable Access Strap, Wall Socket for HDTV, Home Theater Systems - White (2-Pack)
I don’t see many people doing this and it makes me curious as to why.
 

bluprntguy

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
826
Reaction score
1,207
Location
San Francisco
What do you mean by power cables and what type of lights? If you are running LED’s and you are talking about the cable from the transformer to the fixture, it may be OK. If you are running a power cable to metal halides, probably not as they aren’t rated for inside wall cavities.
 
OP
T

Trey

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
92
Reaction score
23
Location
Brunswick, Ohio
What do you mean by power cables and what type of lights? If you are running LED’s and you are talking about the cable from the transformer to the fixture, it may be OK. If you are running a power cable to metal halides, probably not as they aren’t rated for inside wall cavities.

aquatic life t5 hybrid 61 with 3 Radion xr30 blues.?
 

bluprntguy

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
826
Reaction score
1,207
Location
San Francisco
aquatic life t5 hybrid 61 with 3 Radion xr30 blues.?
As has already been mentioned, the building codes for most states require power cables in walls to be rated for in wall construction and often even require that they be in metal conduit to protect from mice chewing through the outer covering. The plates you link mention using them for things like audio and hdmi cables (and not power) for a reason.

I would definitely not run the power cables for the T5 in the wall and if those are going to be exposed, I don’t know why you‘d do the radions.
 
OP
T

Trey

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
92
Reaction score
23
Location
Brunswick, Ohio
As has already been mentioned, the building codes for most states require power cables in walls to be rated for in wall construction and often even require that they be in metal conduit to protect from mice chewing through the outer covering. The plates you link mention using them for things like audio and hdmi cables (and not power) for a reason.

I would definitely not run the power cables for the T5 in the wall and if those are going to be exposed, I don’t know why you‘d do the radions.
Not sure what you mean you don’t know why I would do the radions...
 

nudave

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 26, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Why not run romex from the outlet at floor level up to another outlet at the height you choose? Works well - especially for hang on wall TV's, dont see why it wouldn't work well in this scenario.
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,834
Reaction score
1,542
Location
NYC
Code does not allow you to run your cable inside the wall cavity. Somebody mentioned romex, you can use that if your municipality allows it or a bx. You can use and inlet at the stand level and plug the light at the light level with an in-wall cable between the two. You can still keep your controller connectivity this way.

This is what you need for the inlet side behind the stand for each of the light you want to control. Outlet on the other side.

 
OP
T

Trey

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
92
Reaction score
23
Location
Brunswick, Ohio
Code does not allow you to run your cable inside the wall cavity. Somebody mentioned romex, you can use that if your municipality allows it or a bx. You can use and inlet at the stand level and plug the light at the light level with an in-wall cable between the two. You can still keep your controller connectivity this way.

This is what you need for the inlet side behind the stand for each of the light you want to control. Outlet on the other side.

Wow.. I feel like you’re speaking Spanish here. May be the beer.. or maybe I’m just stupid lol. Any way you could dumb that down for me? I’m not sure how what you linked even works!
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,834
Reaction score
1,542
Location
NYC
Wow.. I feel like you’re speaking Spanish here. May be the beer.. or maybe I’m just stupid lol. Any way you could dumb that down for me? I’m not sure how what you linked even works!

So, in order to run your line inside the wall you need an inlet and outlet connected with romes or bx inside the wall.

Inlet is somewhere close to your controller and outlet is somewhere close to your hanging lights.

You connect from apex (or any other controller you have) using a computer type wire or extension cord (depending on the model of inlet you buy) to inlet and your lights on the other side to the outlet. It's simple, most people use this very setup for hanging TV on a wall.
 
OP
T

Trey

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
92
Reaction score
23
Location
Brunswick, Ohio
So, in order to run your line inside the wall you need an inlet and outlet connected with romes or bx inside the wall.

Inlet is somewhere close to your controller and outlet is somewhere close to your hanging lights.

You connect from apex (or any other controller you have) using a computer type wire or extension cord (depending on the model of inlet you buy) to inlet and your lights on the other side to the outlet. It's simple, most people use this very setup for hanging TV on a wall.
That makes sense! Thank you. “Computer type wire” is what did it for me. Appreciate the input and link.
 

fishguy242

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
10,348
Reaction score
44,544
Location
southern il
hi,romex would just be like running wire through wall,if anything bx armored cable, easy to run piece of rigid emt from box below to new box /outlet,minimize hole in wall can use coupler's and emt in sections,safest way in my opinion :)
 

BZOFIQ

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
1,834
Reaction score
1,542
Location
NYC
Ok, so I took couple of pictures for you to give you an idea.

Here are 2 types on inlets. You connect either a standard computer cable to one or a short (or long) extension cord to the other. Inside the wall between this and the outlet at a light level you run a BX cable. It's all to code then.

Hope this helps and not just you.

1596463000860.png


1596463031032.png


1596463048618.png
 

Coral in your reef tank?

  • Pack in as many as I can get

    Votes: 57 13.6%
  • A lot but leave room for growth

    Votes: 281 67.1%
  • Less is more

    Votes: 60 14.3%
  • Very very few

    Votes: 13 3.1%
  • Fish only...blah!

    Votes: 5 1.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 3 0.7%

Online statistics

Members online
2,504
Guests online
4,847
Total visitors
7,351
UniqueCorals.com shop rare & farmed corls
Top