• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Ruegaroo Waterbox 60.2 Build

ruegaroo

View Badges
Reaction score
Going to go ahead and make a build thread as I feel like it will be a fun way to monitor my progress and potentially get some tips from anybody that wants to chime in.

I am new to the hobby but have always been interested in marine life and decided to finally take the plunge and get my hands wet. I ordered a Waterbox 60.2 and have had water in it for about a week now.

Equipment
- Ecotech Marine Vectra S2 - might be overkill but if I ever upgrade tank size in the future I will be alright.
- IceCap 3K Gyre
- Eheim Jager Submersible Heater
- Reef Octopus Classic 110 INT Skimmer
- AI Prime HD LED - came with the Waterbox setup and so far I am happy with it

In the Tank
- Caribsea Life Rock
- Caribsea Live Sand
- RO/DI Water - Homemade
- Red Sea Coral Pro Salt

Livestock Wishes
- Blenny - not sure what kind yet
- Pair of clowns - not sure what kind yet
- Wrasse - not sure what kind yet
- Leathers
- Euphyllia - frogspawn and hammer primarily
- Other LPS - trachyphyllia, lobophyllia, acanthastrea
- Softies - I like the look of pulsing xenia but a lot of people seem to hate this as they are weed-like - I dunno I think they look cool when they are pulsing
------This is what I hope to eventually work up to over time

Last night I started with the Red Sea Reef Mature kit to get the cycle going. Below is what my tank currently looks like. I am very happy with the aquascaping but my only concern is the bald patch in the front corner from the sand blowing away. Some other threads on here have said that over time as algae grows in the sand it will gain a little more weight and be harder to move.

Anyway, let this first post in my tank thread signify the official start of my reefing journey!

WB8-26-19.jpg

rodney

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score