Sandbed suggestions - Meat corals, other LPS, what's a good sandbed center piece that won't break the bank?

Narideth

Fishaholic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all! I'm looking for suggestions on corals that will be happy on the sand bed, or on a small island for support if needed at the very bottom of my tank. PAR in the area I'm looking at comes in around 220. I've been looking around and visited the best local coral shop for inspiration, but I'm still a relative novice when it comes to coral types.

From what I've gathered, a lot of the large 'meat' corals are quite expensive because they don't or can't be reproduced or fragged to aquaculture them. They look beautiful, but I just can't drop 500+ on a coral right now.

My ideas ranged from a decent scoly, even if it starts off small, to an acan garden of 6-7 choice pieces that I allow to grow in on a plug island. I'm not opposed to alternatives like a lower light clam, but this is a smallish tank, 15 gallons, so I don't have space for the really large ones to grow out.

The LFS suggested trachyphyllia, but the prices... but they are so pretty! I'd love some other ideas, and my only 'no' options at the moment are no zoas - I already have a garden started in this tank - and no euphyllia. They do not do well in this tank for some reason. Two attempted hammers and two dead skeletons later, and I don't want to risk killing more of them!

I'd say my budget for a single piece of coral is probably around $200, which does allow for some 'lower end' of those meaty corals, but I'm looking for bang for my buck. I do kind of want something that will give me pop, but I'm not sold on any one thing. Please, help me with suggestions! Show me your beauties!

OP
OP
Narideth

Narideth

Fishaholic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
After a peek through what I could expect price wise and color wise, those are some awesome suggestions! I realy like the look of the open brain types.