Should I Change Out Carbon?

Reefer37

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm still learning, but when I got my tank 4 months ago, it came with carbon bags. I'm not sure how old they were or how long they were used, but I never replaced them with new carbon when I started the tank up. One I ended up switching out for Chemi-pure Elite and still haven't touched the other one.

Should I change out the carbon and put fresh carbon in, or remove entirely? I'm honestly not even sure I need the Chemi-pure because I feel like my parameters have been pretty stable and nitrates always almost seem too low of anything (between 0-5ppm on API test) Any suggestions?

DS204

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no expert but I read that carbon should be changed approximately once per month. Someone else might chime in with more experience and either confirm this idea, or provide more insight.

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would just keep the carbon out unless you need it. I toss carbon in if I frag, during dino blooms or I am concerned about a chemical exposure (gf soldered near the tank, magnet case split, ect). I think I remember something about it leaching phosphates in the water.

If you need it I would replace every month.

rynosreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Carbon usefulness in buffering water, removing yellowing pigments, and general toxins is used up pretty quickly, which is why it's typically recommended to replace it every 2-4 weeks. It's not a product one would use to reduce nitrates or other organic nutrients. If it has been in there for months then it's definitely used up, and now is likely just a place your nitrifying bacteria have populated. You can certainly remove it, and if you choose to, replace with new carbon. Carbon isn't a must have imo, but I do like it for water clarity and as a safety measure if something toxic gets in the water.

OP
OP
Reefer37