Sick Frogspawn any help greatly appreciated!!

UABsleeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys so I'm new to the saltwater world and was wandering if yall could help guide me as to what I need to with my coral..

So bought this Frogspawn yesterday and my lfs acclimated it slowly did a coral dip with coral rx and added to my system by yesterday evening the coral had begun opening up and thought all was good this morning I woke up to find this
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1433010246.604994.jpg

On the left side of the coral is some purpleish color algae growing and the rest of the coral is closed up.. I was wandering what it was and what could possibly be the cause and is their anything to do??

The tank has been running about 2 months and other corals look great? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

OP
OP
UABsleeper

UABsleeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sg per refract. ~1.024, ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate ~5, ph ~8.0 I have other euphyllia in the tank opened up and look great

It's a biocube 29 with
Watchman goby and pistol shrimp
2 clowns
Red fire shrimp
2 torches
Duncan
Zoanthids
Ricordia
Dwarf red leg crabs, and snails

Not sure if it's that it's almost a purple hair like algae it appeared on my sandbed a couple of days ago after changing the flow in my tank for the torches..?
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1433013147.848409.jpg

OP
OP
UABsleeper

UABsleeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1433013423.029457.jpg
this is what the algae looks like that started growing on my sandbed you may can see the strings and stuff growing from it? Oh and thank you very much for your quick reply

OP
OP
UABsleeper

UABsleeper

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So Can cyano get on corals? And I probably run my lights to long actinic abt 12 hrs 10k about 8 hrs and moon lights stay on usually