Something wrong with my Raccoon's face on oneside

Nunu810

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I'm very new to the saltwater world and would love to get some help and info.

There is something wrong with my raccoon's face. It started as what looked like a cut a few days ago, and now it looks all funky and is loosing color.
Can someone please help me identify whats wrong with it.

*raccoon is currently in a 20gal qt tank, along with 2 damsels, 2 firefish, and 1 orchid dottyback.
The rest of the crew have been eating well, I have not really seen the raccoon eat much or at all. I just got them last week

Attachments

• Snapchat-118260954.mp4
    8.8 MB
  • Snapchat-113185409.mp4
    4.7 MB

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I'm very new to the saltwater world and would love to get some help and info.

There is something wrong with my raccoon's face. It started as what looked like a cut a few days ago, and now it looks all funky and is loosing color.
Can someone please help me identify whats wrong with it.

*raccoon is currently in a 20gal qt tank, along with 2 damsels, 2 firefish, and 1 orchid dottyback.
The rest of the crew have been eating well, I have not really seen the raccoon eat much or at all. I just got them last week

Welcome to Reef2Reef!

I wish we could have met under better circumstances - your butterfly has a systemic infection - either Uronema, bacterial or a mix of both. The rapid breathing and not eating indicates it is systemic, not localized. I don't see any course of action that would save it, but you need to ensure the other fish are kept safe.

Have you medicated the tank with anything yet?

Are you monitoring the ammonia in the tank? You need to test and ensure the ammonia level stays below .25 ppm

Jay

OP
OP
Nunu810

Nunu810

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!