SPS healthy or starting to have an issue?

Dolfan-Mike

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm relatively new to SPS but not corals in general. I've got two different SPS a Grine Slimer and Starry night. The Stary night seems to be doing well and for a good while so was this Green Slimer, but in the past few weeks, I notice that a couple of the tips looked red like they had cyno on them? I am battling some cyno on my sand bed and a bit around on my liverock.

Setup and Parms
90g DT, 25g sump
Current LED combined with 2 T5 39w with ATI Blue and Coral Plus

Parms
Salinity =1.025
Temp = 78.4-79.2
PH = 8.05-8.2
KH = 9
CA = 440
MG = 1340
NO3 = 0
PO4 = 0

I've included a couple of pictures that I hope you can see the red color on the tips of a couple of the branches. There is new growth as well so I didn't' think things were terrible. But really want to figure out if I have an issue. This morning I dipped this coral in CoralRx for about 15 minutes to see if that would help.

Close-up.PNG

IMG_5770.jpg IMG_5771.jpg

Epic Aquaculture

The artist formerly known as SawCJack00
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looking over your parameters I would say your main issue is low nutrients with higher alk. I would bump you nitrate and phosphate and let your alkalinity slowly drift down to between 7 and 8. Higher alk with very low nitrients is a recipe for burnt tips.
He's right you know.gif

SifuMemphis

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Having zero nitrate and zero phosphate essentially is starving your coral. Try to keep around 5-10 ppm Nitrate, and 0.03-0.05 p04

fcmatt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
a lot of shading going on with the lighting?

OP
OP
Dolfan-Mike

Dolfan-Mike

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK, so no shading on this coral, it's got a good direct path to lighting.