SPS help needed...(Classic title) :)

JohnnyTabasco

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm seeking a bit of help. I'm pretty new to SPS but have ben in the hobby for quite some time - so I got the basics :)

I have had some issues with SPS in my tank - especially when acclimating it to the tank.
I can't figure out if it's the light or the chemistry of the water. The corals seams to bleach or just look rly sad in general.

I tried these corals over the last 3 month:
Monti cap - it just slowly gets pale and then bleach.
Montipora digitata - it bleached in the middle of the stems but now seams to have ben stable for some time. But the tissue has not regenerated where it bleached.
Green bali slimer - seams to do ok, but tips have gotten some white and I'm afraid it will go down hill.

The light is a AI hydra 26 and I put it on acclimation down to like 30-40% intensity with 20 days run time.
I don't own a par meter btw - so I cant give you par readings.
The light is inside a reflector - that might affect something.
It's 13 inch above the water.
Here is a picture:
20170102_121933.jpg RefOkt17.jpg

Here is a screenshot of my normal lighting situation without the acclimation on:
Ai1.jpg Ai2.jpg

Here are the facts on chemistry. It has ben stable like this since I started trying out SPS.
Tank age: 3 years and running BB

Salinity: 35ppt with a calibrated refractometer
Temp: 77 - 79(24-25.5) with a calibrated taylor thermometer
PH: 7,9 -8.1
PO4: 0,01 - 0,04 (hanna URL phosphorus) here are the last 4 readings (2 a month) 2 - 18 - 2 - 4. I always check 3 times with the same sample
No3: 2.5
Alk: 8,5 - 8,9
CA: 425
MG: 1350

I run a standart setup with a small skimmer, a reactor with a bit or AF zeolit and rox 0.8 carbon, filter floss, bio media and kalkwasser in the ATO. I do 10% WC every weekend and once in a while dose amino acids.
At the moment I'm also dosing Coral snow and KZ cyano clean. I had a small patch of cyano that I'm taking care of.