SPS help, no polyp extension

Fishfinder

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys. I'm adding a couple pieces to my tank and it's my first time with SPS. I added some frags about 1-2 weeks ago. They have had good color since I got them. I can not get polyps to extend. I haven't seen any encrusting yet but i haven't had them long. How can I get polyp extension??

My tank.... 200 gal with 250 gal total volume. I'm running reef breeder V2 on 60%. Getting 300 PAR where the SPS is. NO3 is 10, PO4 is .04-.06. Cal 440, ALK 8.4, mag 1380. All LPS is doing good.

Any ideas?

Sandroni

Professional Coral Bleacher
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh boy I believe it is the nitrate! It seems pretty high for SPS since they like low nitrate water. That is why you see no problems really with LPS and nitrates unless it is above 10 ppm.

SDReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
2-5 ppm nitrate is a good area. I would definitely look for a way to cut down on nitrates.

OP
OP
Fishfinder

Fishfinder

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I could easily cut them down, i worked hard to build them up to 10 lol. My flow is 40-50x tank volume. No angelfish. The only fish I have are tangs

bif24701

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys. I'm adding a couple pieces to my tank and it's my first time with SPS. I added some frags about 1-2 weeks ago. They have had good color since I got them. I can not get polyps to extend. I haven't seen any encrusting yet but i haven't had them long. How can I get polyp extension??

My tank.... 200 gal with 250 gal total volume. I'm running reef breeder V2 on 60%. Getting 300 PAR where the SPS is. NO3 is 10, PO4 is .04-.06. Cal 440, ALK 8.4, mag 1380. All LPS is doing good.

Any ideas?

Your number are just fine, nothing wrong there. If you wish to bring down NO3 then ~5ppm is a good number too but 10 is fine.