SPS ongoing STN issues. Marine pure leaching?

Holy_makerel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been driving myself crazy for the last 6+ months trying to keep my SPS healthy. Tank is about 8 months old with 50% of the rock coming from my old system which was up for over a year. Rock is looking pretty mature at this point with lots of coraline growth in rocks and back glass.

60 gal mixed reef with zoas, LPS, monti, hydnophora, leptos, stylo, and acros.

Most everything is doing great but I'm currently losing the hydnophora which has flourished in the tank for over a year. Acros go through phases of growth and die back over the course of months and die back further everytime.

I've tried several different things to try and help my acros. Removing them all and dipping(bacterial i thought maybe), changing flow, alk levels (slowly), lighting, cleaning everything and making sure there isnt any rust or cracked equipment, added a grounding probe, added miracle mud, and added a temp controller. Going as far as stopping all 2 part dosing and kalk additions, no carbon dosing or GFO and relying on waterchanges to try and stabilize whatever has been happening.

I really need to send in a triton test and get a picture of my water quality but here are my #s from yesterday

Alk- 7.65 hanna
Ca- 400ppm salifert
Mg- 1320ppm salifert
No3 25ppm salifert
Po4- 0.02ppm hanna low level
Temp ranges between 77-78

I'm only dosing 2ml each of 2 part/day(this keeps my levels stable). Manually dosing mg as needed. Small amounts of GFO and carbon in a reactor. Vodka dosing 1ml/day. Also run a cheato reactor which grows calurpa better than cheato.

Was using salinity salt but changed over to HW Reefer about a month ago. I do a 5 gal WC a week right now but for a few months i was doing 10 gal.

Only thing i haven't removed is the biopure spheres and plate that are in my sump and am starting to wonder if its leaching Al or something into my water.