Studio Lighting Setup?

kiran

reef noob
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,

I'm new to the saltwater reef hobby and need some advice on studio lighting for macro photography.

I have 2 Savage 700watt bi-color LED Studio lights (link).

I was wondering what color temp is best for aquarium photography? I come from a automotive photography background so I understand how to shoot cars but aquariums kind of leave me confused.

I have a A7RII with the Sony 90mm Macro lens and a Tiffen 85B Orange Filter (link)

Thanks!

shwareefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not a photographer but most macro photography relies on the display lighting of the tank. Studio lighting would just create unwanted glass reflections. Now if you're planning imagery for advertising of tank/stand combinations that might change the answer.

kenbennedy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,

I'm new to the saltwater reef hobby and need some advice on studio lighting for macro photography.

I was wondering what color temp is best for aquarium photography? I come from a automotive photography background so I understand how to shoot cars but aquariums kind of leave me confused.

I have a A7RII with the Sony 90mm Macro lens and a Tiffen 85B Orange Filter (link)

Thanks!
I think you will want to match the temp of the lights to your tank as closely as possible, and add gels if needed to get them closer. Mixed temp lighting is tough to deal with.

OP
OP
kiran

kiran

reef noob
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not a photographer but most macro photography relies on the display lighting of the tank. Studio lighting would just create unwanted glass reflections. Now if you're planning imagery for advertising of tank/stand combinations that might change the answer.
I have a rubber hood meant for putting the camera against the glass and it creates a lightproof seal so I don't get any reflections (hopefully).