Switching Controllers

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by Ditto, Jul 21, 2017.

  1. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Thanka for the video link I am going to see what I can try also. I have two gyre on my other tank may just do some playing :)
     

  2. FirstContact

    FirstContact Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Glenn Dale, MD, USA
    Well, I posted this in the GHL forums tonight.
     
  3. FirstContact

    FirstContact Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Glenn Dale, MD, USA
  4. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    @Vinny@GHLUSA post I believe the one options are similar.

    Would you not just create two stream groups one for each pump just like he Apex demo showed, ramp them up in opposite time interval, or the sequence with a ramp up time.

    I am still playing as I have he vortech pumps, I am waiting on the module so I can test with icecaps which are on my other tank.
     
  5. WWIII

    WWIII Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    304
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Looks like the only tricky thing to do would be the period where the 2 gyres overlap, if in fact you want them to alternate as they do in the video. Having said that, there seems to be plenty of programming options via profilux. Also like how you can easily set feed mode, night mode, and storm mode easily seperate from your main program!
     
  6. FirstContact

    FirstContact Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Glenn Dale, MD, USA
    If that’s exactly the same program, that’s not what Vinny responded with in the GHL forum. He didn’t write it was possible to mirror the program. He suggested something similar where on Gyre was operating and the other was off. Not the he same thing at all.

    Let me know how the above works for you. Want to know if it works.
     
  7. cmcoker

    cmcoker Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Texas
    I have just been playing around with this, and I think it's doable.
    I used illumination runs to control each pump, I'm using rw8s with a diy cable, so I doknt know if that would be too different from the gyre interface and controller..
    I have a Jebao RW pump on L1 and L2.
    In GCC instead of assigning the stream pump function to the L port, I assigned each an illumination function. This still uses the 0 to 10v control but it allows a more customized profile.

    I'm actually using light composer, it's a little easier to change the percentage at each time point. Right now, I'm trying to figure out my max % for each pump without blowing the tissue off my frogspawn.

    Here's a few points I have plotted, until I figure out where I want the percentages to max.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. FirstContact

    FirstContact Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Glenn Dale, MD, USA
    Sounds good.
     
  9. Tristren

    Tristren Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Except that, it seems at least, that you can't put the Gyres in reverse with that setup?
     
  10. cmcoker

    cmcoker Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't know how it works with the gyre, I only have the rw's. I don't know if there is a reverse mode using the stream pump setting either...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...