TDS input low on RODI

AI Nero 5

Floyd-

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
98
Reaction score
81
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Navarre, FL
I just got my 4 stage BRS plus RODI setup last night and tried it out. After running for about 30-40 minutes i checked the input and output. I got 0 on output so thats all good but I was surprised to see input TDS in the range of 1-3! Ive seen people on here claiming TDS input of over 100. Do I just have clean water coming from the city? Do I still need the RODI or can I return this and just use tap?
 
Fritz

dank reefer

IG: dankreefer_IG
View Badges
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
2,093
Reaction score
2,357
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Concord, NC
I was SUS about it as well

 

dank reefer

IG: dankreefer_IG
View Badges
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
2,093
Reaction score
2,357
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Concord, NC
The 1-3 is the TDS of the RO water that has passed the first 3 stages. Not the input.
Well that's good to know as I always though my water was Super Fresh and Clean. Now i'm scared to know what my true TDS is :eek:
 

WVNed

The fish are staring at me with hungry eyes.
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
7,836
Reaction score
33,431
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Hurricane, WV
The first number tells you the condition of your RO membrane. The second position tells you the condition of your DI resin.
I added a second dual meter so I do know the TDS of my incoming water and after the first 2 stages.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
F

Floyd-

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
98
Reaction score
81
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Navarre, FL
The 1-3 is the TDS of the RO water that has passed the first 3 stages. Not the input.
Got ya! I can see where the sensor is at and that makes sense. I could swap it out and put it on the main red line and see the true input! Just put my valve where the sensor is now just as a test.
 
OP
F

Floyd-

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
98
Reaction score
81
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Navarre, FL
The first number tells you the condition of your RO membrane. The second position tells you the condition of your DI resin.
I added a second dual meter so I do know the TDS of my incoming water and after the first 2 stages.
You would think it was list it as a true input and not the input after some filtering. Thanks for the insight into this.
 

dank reefer

IG: dankreefer_IG
View Badges
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
2,093
Reaction score
2,357
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Concord, NC
The first number tells you the condition of your RO membrane. The second position tells you the condition of your DI resin.
I added a second dual meter so I do know the TDS of my incoming water and after the first 2 stages.
I'm gonna have to do the same thing to see where my true incoming TDS is at
 
AI Hydra

PICK the Most Tested & Least Tested Parameters of your Tank (Pick 2)

  • Calcium (most)

    Votes: 43 6.4%
  • Alkalinity (most)

    Votes: 467 70.0%
  • Magnesium (most)

    Votes: 5 0.7%
  • Phosphate (most)

    Votes: 59 8.8%
  • PH (most)

    Votes: 66 9.9%
  • Nitrate (most)

    Votes: 64 9.6%
  • Nitrite (most)

    Votes: 3 0.4%
  • Ammonia (most)

    Votes: 15 2.2%
  • (least) Calcium

    Votes: 9 1.3%
  • (least) Alkalinity

    Votes: 4 0.6%
  • (least) Magnesium

    Votes: 57 8.5%
  • (least) Phosphate

    Votes: 14 2.1%
  • (least) PH

    Votes: 35 5.2%
  • (least) Nitrate

    Votes: 12 1.8%
  • (least) Nitrite

    Votes: 197 29.5%
  • (least) Ammonia

    Votes: 255 38.2%
Biota Marine Life
Top