bens_tanks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all!

I’m fairly new to Reef 2 Reef, but I’ve been in the hobby since 2017, so I figured I’d start to post. I always wanted a reef tank, and when I was in college I finally had some cash, and obviously too much time on my hands… I should’ve been paying off loans but coral’s more fun . My college had a 10 gallon limit and a friend was wanting to get rid of his Innovative marine Nuvo 10, so I picked it up, and cleaned it up!

IMG_5732.jpeg

IMG_5733.jpeg

I was brand new to the reefing hobby. The Nuvo 10 all in one was perfect for a beginner to learn on. Most people say the smaller you go the harder, but in my experience, use a good salt, and a weekly 50% water change did most of the work. I digress.

So I bought the tank while I was in Florida for spring break, and brought it up with me to southern Virginia where I was going to school. I set it up in my dorm room. Very basic at first, I don’t think I even had a heater initially. Tank, stock pump, some rock (beginners big cave), and a clip on light just to make it look not dead I used turbostart 900 to cycle the tank, then added a clown. It did well so a month later I added a second clown.

IMG_5737.jpeg

IMG_5739.jpeg

IMG_5740.jpeg

Kept it basic, that summer I went to Northern Virginia for work. I was working 80hr work weeks so I had some extra cash… I ended up getting an AI Prime (the OG one), and a reef glass protein skimmer.

IMG_5747.jpeg

That next month, it was time for some coral and back to college. I can’t get across how great this tank is for college… two 5 gallon buckets will fit all your water and rock perfectly

IMG_5750.jpeg

IMG_5751.jpeg

I could go on and on, but I’ll shorten it up. This tank has been to 3 dorm rooms, 3 states, 4 apartments, it’s gone through different coral, fish, pumps, etc. I’ll attach some eye candy, and also some things I’ve learned.

Info:
Tank: Innovative Marine Nuvo 10
Pump: Sicce 0.5