To vacuum the sand bed or not when dosing silicate.

dennislagoon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been facing dinos in my Reefer 170 for more than 9 months now and eventually the prorocentrum have become the dominant one. They’re mainly on the sand bed.

For about 3 to 4 months I have been keeping No3 at 5-15 ppm and Po4 at ~0.05 ppm through dosing. And adding live phyto and bacteria daily and doing no water changes. I vacuum the sand bed once in a while through a 5 micron filter sock as it doesn’t make much of a dent.

Unfortunately UV didn’t do much too (11W with 2x tank volume flow), so I started dosing silicate every other day about a week ago after I vacuumed the sand bed.

In a week time my sand bed is completely covered and I have trouble keeping the alkalinity up.

Just wondered if it would be a smart move to vacuum the sand bed (without cleaning the diatoms on my glass) or let everything be undisturbed

What’s your opinion on vacuuming your sand bed while doing the silicates treatment?

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Perhaps all the diatom growth elevated the pH, which increased the calcification, or the lack of dinoflagellates is less stressful to your corals, which improves growth.

I think it’s fine to siphon your sand.

OP
OP
dennislagoon

dennislagoon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Perhaps all the diatom growth elevated the pH, which increased the calcification, or the lack of dinoflagellates is less stressful to your corals, which improves growth.

I think it’s fine to siphon your sand.
You’re right that my pH has been elevated by 0.2. And just to clarify, there are a lot of stringy diatoms on the glass, but my sand bed is completely covered with dinos.

Explain silicate treatment.

Why are you dosing silicates? I dose silicates to grow sponges.