Totally Clueless

JLN72

Never Too Old To Try
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am so new I am not even sure if I am posting in the right place but I just want to introduce myself. I am totally new to saltwater reefing. I converted a freshwater tank to saltwater 40 years ago which lasted for about six months and failed so badly I vowed I would never do saltwater again. Well I guess some vows are made to be broken. I don't remember anything so I am starting totally clueless again. I don't want to spend my all my retirement savings into this adventure so I am starting out really slow, reading and watching videos, looking to buy used tanks and equipment and doing DIY where ever I can. My challenge is that I only have the use of one arm from a stroke but I have sons in law and grandkids that are willing to help until all the goodwill is used up,

I have very limited footprint for a tank, approximately 48” by 20”. I watched the classifieds and purchased the following:

50g tank 48 x 12 x 18 (Internal corner overflow)
Stand with all the plumbing
Euro-Reef Skimmer
Hygger Heater with external digital control
Orbit Dual LED Light Fixture with Loop Controller
2 Eflux wave pumps Kit
2 DC pumps
2 Buckets of rock
29g tank

I think I got everything for a good price but I did say I am clueless. I know there are a lot of pros and cons to the above equipment but it is what it is.
I wanted a larger stand so my son in law built a beautiful stand for the tank and at least I will have something nice to display if the tank (not me) fails again. I am going to install a sump and just hoping the dimensions I gave for the stand were followed!