Turf Algae Nightmare

KevinsReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve about had it with what people have told me is Turf algae. The only thing in my 90gal tank that will eat this stuff is my emerald crab. Kole Tang, snails, and crabs won’t touch it. I’ve been dosing Vibrant twice per week for 5 weeks. I only have to clean my glass once per week. I dosed 2 part ESV and NOPOX daily. My parameters are:
Alk: 8.4, Calc: 420, Mag: 1320, Nitrate: 0.5, Phosphate: 0.05, SG: 1.025.

Does anyone have any advice or success getting rid of this stuff short of tearing down the tank?

Thanks

Attached are some pictures.
4fdac477671f2156e0925ab3f4662cb7.jpg
b9dbb6ff783ea6ca3bd7c0027f7197a3.jpg
7bf4bde10be3d094bd5aa58d9a8f1577.jpg

Auquanut

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry for your troubles brother. I've never seen turf algae so localized and so bad. I'm no algae expert, but I'm sure the bigger brains out there can help. I've heard of people having results with directly applying peroxide, but I've never tried it myself. Hang in there. I'm sure it can be fixed.

OP
OP
KevinsReef

KevinsReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry for your troubles brother. I've never seen turf algae so localized and so bad. I'm no algae expert, but I'm sure the bigger brains out there can help. I've heard of people having results with directly applying peroxide, but I've never tried it myself. Hang in there. I'm sure it can be fixed.

Thanks for your encouragement. I’ve had a reef Tank since I was in college in the late nineties. Most of my live rock I’ve had since then and only recently encountered turf algae. It must have come in on a frag or something.

I contacted Underwater Creations and they suggested increasing the frequency of the dosing of Vibrant from twice per week to every other day. I’m going to try that and give it a little while. If that doesn’t help I may try peroxide.

Auquanut

5000 Club Member
View Badges