Upgraded cube

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well I have upgraded my tank. Right now I have a 30 gallon cube. But I was able to pick up a 93 gallon at a great price. So here I go trying to get this thing built so I can move everything over from the 30 to this one with little to no problems. I am kind of broke and this hobby is not for a broke person but I’m doing my best. I made the stand for it. I could park a car on it and not worry.
For the last few days I have been running the new setup and checking for leaks. Just one little one and that was fixed by just tightening the hose clamp. While the tank was doing a freshwater leak test I have been building the aquascape that will be going in it. Now mostly all that is left that needs to be done is lighting for it tomorrow I might build the fixture that I plan on hanging the lights from . But I guess I will have to be better and posting pictures and updates as I go along getting this thing ready to go.
IMG_3808.jpeg
IMG_3806.jpeg
IMG_3765.jpeg
IMG_3766.jpeg
IMG_3807.jpeg
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was thinking when I go to move everything over I plan on dumping a bottle of Dr. Tim’s in it and putting the rock from the 30 in the skimmer section of the sump for a few months. I also ha a couple of marine pure bricks that have been going for a year in my old sump. I’m thinking between the Dr Tim’s and rock and bricks from the 5 year old tank things should be ok for a little while. But I was also thinking about ordering up the 8 pounds of rock and 8 pounds of sand from Tampa bay just to get some diversity going.
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Figured I might as well post a picture of the 30 cube that’s getting replaced. Sorry it’s an old picture with dirty glass. Currently I have more corals in it but I don’t have a picture that’s new. Maybe I will snap one tomorrow.
IMG_3584.jpeg
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_3949.jpeg
Well I am just sitting here not wanting to work so I decided to snap a few pictures of my 30 gallon cube that will be going into 93 once it’s up and running. I also got a filter for my phone and I wanted to see how those pictures turn out to. So update time waiting on the lights still. I was cleaning up some of my old equipment like the skimmer so I thought I would make sure it worked. Well to my surprise the pump no longer works so I guess I need a new pump or skimmer. Time to go looking to see what I can find. But now to some pictures of fish and corals that will get moved over once it’s up and running.
 

Gumbies R Us

Certified Noob
View Badges
Joined
Nov 10, 2022
Messages
12,000
Reaction score
21,626
Location
North Georgia
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_3949.jpeg
Well I am just sitting here not wanting to work so I decided to snap a few pictures of my 30 gallon cube that will be going into 93 once it’s up and running. I also got a filter for my phone and I wanted to see how those pictures turn out to. So update time waiting on the lights still. I was cleaning up some of my old equipment like the skimmer so I thought I would make sure it worked. Well to my surprise the pump no longer works so I guess I need a new pump or skimmer. Time to go looking to see what I can find. But now to some pictures of fish and corals that will get moved over once it’s up and running.
Love the coral in your tank!
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well things are starting to move along. I finally moved my tank from the middle of the living room to where it’s calling home. I had to drain my 30 cube and move it over so I could put the 93 in its place. My goal for today is get it level and then start putting RO water in it.
IMG_4127.jpeg
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
And it’s filling and filling and filling. Going to be a couple of days to get it filled. But I was sitting here and I kind of liked the view so I snapped another picture.
IMG_4129.jpeg
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well the tank is filled and the salt added. I also added a bottle of Dr Tim's to kick off the cycle along with a couple of bio bricks that I had in my sump for the last 6-9 months. I also gave it a large dose of Aquaforest Life Source. I am a believer in this stuff, I started to add it to my 30 cube and it made a total turn around from it looking like I needed to tear the tank down to looking great. Who knew adding mud to your tank is good for it.
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well I was so hoping for a fast cycle but that doesn't look like its going to happen. I have been testing daily so I can track it progress. Well my Nitrites are off the scale at 200ppm but I am now starting to get some Nitrates starting to show up. So I know there is progress but just way slow. I read and seen everyone talking about how great and how fast Dr. Tim's one and only completed cycles in a week but maybe I got a bad bottle so it is going off the bio-bricks I added to the sump. On a side note I am starting to get patches of Diatoms showing up on the sand and a few places on the rocks. So I guess its time to get the tank seeded with some pods to try and keep things from getting out of hand.
 
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well I placed an order for some pods for my new tans that I just got up and running. So looking around on the internet I happen to run across Aquarium Depot. Well the have a 2000+ pods and bottle of phyto. So I figured I would give them a try. Well I just got my Oder to delivered by UPS. When I picked up the box a rotten smell was coming from it. I brought it inside and opened it up. All I can say is the smell coming from it would make anyone gag. I looked at the bags the pods were shipped in and I had a yellow brown muck at the bottom of both of the bags. I opened them up (mistake number one) and the smell was one of the worst things ever. I dumped everything from the bags to a bowl and I would have to say 95% of the pods were dead and rotten. Even the dog smelled it and went outside and is still outside. I got all of my window and doors open for the last couple of hours and it still smells in here. I fished through the bowl of rotten dead pods and pulled out about a half dozen that were alive and placed them in the tank. Next I went to check out the phyto I got. They used a old water bottle. Well this is the lightest phyto I have ever seen. I gave it a little shake and chunks were floating around in it with one pod went swimming by. To me it looks like nasty pod water. Well I can say for sure I will never use them again and here are some pictures for your enjoyment.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4217.jpeg
    IMG_4217.jpeg
    91 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_4218.jpeg
    IMG_4218.jpeg
    147.8 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_4219.jpeg
    IMG_4219.jpeg
    176.7 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_4220.jpeg
    IMG_4220.jpeg
    67.5 KB · Views: 12
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok here is the quick rundown on what’s going on. I have a 28 gallon cube currently up and running for 6 years now. I ended up picking up a 93 gallon cube a few months ago. I got it up and running and the cycle is complete on it. I planed on just letting it run with pods and a few snails and hermits in it for a few months then move everything over from the 28. Well I just noticed I must have a small leak in the 28 because I got salt all over along the bottom seam and running down the stand. Do you think I will loose most of my SPS frags moving them over to the new tank? I can move a few of the rocks over to help it out. Sorry for the bad pictures and the mess as I’m trying to clean things up I started moving things over with out stopping to think I stepped back to collect my thoughts and thought I would ask on here
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    141.3 KB · Views: 14
OP
OP
1fishkeeper

1fishkeeper

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
250
Reaction score
126
Location
Puyallup, WA
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well due to my other tank leaking everything has been successfully moved. I do have a few rocks from the old tank in my display but after some time I will remove them or rearrange them to better fit the scape I got going now. But I thought I would post a few update pictures.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    199.7 KB · Views: 9
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    197 KB · Views: 10
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    266.3 KB · Views: 10
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    224.8 KB · Views: 11

ARE YOU USING LIVE FOOD TO NOURISH YOUR TANK? (TELL US WHY OR WHY NOT IN THE COMMENTS!)

  • Yes, I'm using live food.

    Votes: 95 50.8%
  • No, I'm not using live food.

    Votes: 50 26.7%
  • Not yet, but I want to.

    Votes: 23 12.3%
  • No, and I don't have plans to use it.

    Votes: 17 9.1%
  • Other (please explain!)

    Votes: 2 1.1%
Back
Top