Urchin acclimation ?

PghReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I ordered 3 tuxedo urchins from algaebarn. I've ordered many corals and snails from various vendors but this is my first time ordering urchins. I asked for Friday delivery but they didn't see the note until they had already shipped, they did reach out to me to apologize before I even caught it on their behalf. I explained that I will not be able to get home today until after 9pm to acclimate and transfer. I have someone at home that can bring the package in to keep it out of the elements but it'd have to wait until I'm home from work to acclimate. They said that'd be fine and they will still honor their arrive garuntee.

So they shipped it Tuesday, I guess they use 2 day shipping and not next day for live goods? Never used algaebarn before but they have a good reputation so I'll assume they know what they're doing. With the delay it'll be closer to 3 days for these guys to be in their shipping container, they said that the urchins should be fine if brought inside out of the elements. My house is 72 degree and I had them placed next to the tank so their temp should be low 70s. However when I asked algaebarn their suggested acclimation they suggest drip acclimation. After such a long period in the bags I'm afraid of waste build up and dripp acclimation causing more harm. Most vendors suggest temp acclimation only and then dumping in.

So what would you guys do? This is obviously all assuming when I get home tonight I don't open a box of 3 dead urchins.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0