Vacation checklist?!?!

Madonia

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Going on a 10 day vacation soon. Trying to avoid a disaster.

Does anybody have a ‘vacation checklist’ or tips they are willing to share with me to help mitigate risks of leaving the tank unattended?

I have a trident and apex to monitor. Someone will be there to feed the tank daily. Any advice is appreciated.

MN_ReeferKev

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this and haven't gone on vacation yet, but a common them seems to be dont do anything out of the norm or make any changes in the days leading up to it.

Following for more info, good topic

lefkonj

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First question: Who is caring for the tank? Are they experienced with tanks or just a friend? If not experienced then do you have the number of a LFS handy where they could be called in for a disaster.
Second: Apex apex apex

Now the fun stuff:
1. Leave a bucket at the ready. Probably the most useful tool for a tank right behind your wallet.
2. Extra socks. Let's be honest **** happens and replacing a sock is easy enough
3. Extra food. Not to be given but just in case something is dropped or you are delayed for your return
4. ATO? Is your reservoir big enough to run for longer than you are gone?
5. Some Xanix. While away figure out how to 'Forget about it' and relax

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If 'soon' is less than a 2 weeks away you've left it too late to do anything different.

If the tank is stable just don't change anything other than maybe a water change a couple of days before you leave.
Get your local LFS to watch the Apex for you

I've left my tanks for over two months, but everything was running unattended for 6 weeks before I left.

dwest

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Going on a 10 day vacation soon. Trying to avoid a disaster.