What are Some Good Starter Corals?

92GallonReefer

It Is What It Is
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been keeping fowlr for about two years now and am getting ready to move and upgrade my tank. When i get my new tank set up what are some good hardy corals that would be great to get started with? Thanks

coral diver

Old and Wise
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would start with some softies like Mushroom, Leathers, not rare Zoathid & polips and "I dont recommend" GSP (green star polip)

robharold

Farmer wannabe
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are good starter corals in evry category. Softies, LPS, and SPS.

Zoanthids or mushrooms are very hardy. Most leather corals as well as Colt coral are usually pretty tough as well.GSP is hardy but can become a pain in right conditions as it will grow out of control easily.

LPS - Acans, frogspawn, and hammer corals are all pretty hardy specimens.

SPS - usually reccommneded for more experienced coral keepers but digitata sp and montipora caps are pretty hardy and can handle some rookie mistakes.

The biggest difference in FOWLR and Coral reef is that the conditions for keeping corals are not nearly as forgiving as those for fish only.

RESEARCH EVERY ASPECT before adding any coral and invest in the best equipment you cna get on the front end. These will save you tons of headaches down the road.

GOOD LUCK!!

oceanparadise1

The Coral Dudes
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Why not gsp? its so easy to keep grows fast and very colorful i would have to say go for it! Also green zoas, and stuff. if you want i could put together a killer starter pack for you! :)

OP
OP
92GallonReefer

92GallonReefer

It Is What It Is
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also give us details on equipments and water parameters