What do you feed seahorses?

Seahorsekelly69

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks to captive breeding efforts, hobbyists can keep seahorses in aquariums much more easily these days. We have it so much easier than keepers 10 years ago, who had to struggle through "figuring things out", work with wild caught seahorses and learn mostly through mistakes. Today, we can literally buy seahorses used to aquarium life, eating frozen foods, and healthy as.....well, horses :).

Still, it falls on us as keepers to KEEP them healthy! The following is my latest article about feeding seahorses in aquariums. I would love feedback on how you provide variety to in your seahorses' diets? Or if you have had long term success with frozen food only, please let me know your experiences!

http://seahorsewhisperer.com/what-do-seahorses-eat/
seahorse staring 2.jpg

SaltBabies

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well since I'm relatively new to horse keeping I can't talk about long term.

I provide frozen mysis everyday, twice a day. But I also stock my copepods, amphipods, grass shrimp (occasionally), mysid(occasionally) and have a live brine feeder. The grass shrimp don't last long, neither to the mysid, the amphipods get hunted with vigor. I've see the occasional snick of live brine. I think the copepods go mostly to the pipefish.

I also have a Reed copepod product I sometimes add and frozen amphipods.

I think with a variety they have a better chance of getting minor minerals and such for health. I don't supplement their mysis so I want variety of live foods. I read somewhere that in the wild, amphipods is the largest share of their diet. I try to keep an amphipod population in their tank. I breed amphipods outside the tank and I also buy large quantities about 3 x per year.

I just started trying to breed opau (a small red shrimp) for them as well.

Tautog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0