Whats a few good macro types to add to a reef tank itself ?

ReefBud508

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looking to add a couple types of macro to my reef tank to break up the corals looking for a more natural look for my tank ...also in return having them also be a food source and a nutrient reducing livestock any suggestions I'm new to the whole macro algae thing but i hear nothing but good things about having it in your system!

Lowell Lemon

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is your tank SPS coral, Soft corals and LPS coral or mixed with all three?

NowGlazeIT

Happy to help, Ask away.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have red Caulerpa Racemosa in my display. I am not sure how it got there but I really like the look. The fish and cuc keep it very trimmed down tho. Would be really pretty if everyone was not eating it hah

OP
OP
ReefBud508

ReefBud508

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have red Caulerpa Racemosa in my display. I am not sure how it got there but I really like the look. The fish and cuc keep it very trimmed down tho. Would be really pretty if everyone was not eating it hah
going to have to look that up i like the reds and blues not big into the green trying to go for the brighter colors and stuff that doesn't grow to out of control thanks for the input!

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Mine is a mixed reef with macro algae. I have red titan ( which is the slang name, I think its a halimeda of some type), and red grape caulerpa. Neither are overly aggressive and both are attractive.

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I've thought about adding macro to the display. Could be cool!

OP
OP
ReefBud508

ReefBud508

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0