Where to hang, mount, or set my RODI

WannaBSpaghetti

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
162
Reaction score
140
Location
Bethlehem
HI R2R,

I just purchased my 5 stage RODI unit and have the perfect (only) place for it in my basement next to the sole utility faucet in my home - but there is a snag.
One thing I forgot to consider is that the walls of my basement are stone. All stone. Nowhere for screws or fasteners to be secured. I could hang from the crossbeams but then all the meters and gauges become worthless.
Have any of you found yourselves in this pickle and come up with a decent solve?

Thanks,
Planning on Becoming Spaghetti
 

Crabs McJones

Mayor of R2R
View Badges
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
20,630
Reaction score
89,171
Location
Fond du Lac
HI R2R,

I just purchased my 5 stage RODI unit and have the perfect (only) place for it in my basement next to the sole utility faucet in my home - but there is a snag.
One thing I forgot to consider is that the walls of my basement are stone. All stone. Nowhere for screws or fasteners to be secured. I could hang from the crossbeams but then all the meters and gauges become worthless.
Have any of you found yourselves in this pickle and come up with a decent solve?

Thanks,
Planning on Becoming Spaghetti
Could you create some kind of mounting board that either stands on the ground or hangs from the cross beams?
 
OP
WannaBSpaghetti

WannaBSpaghetti

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
162
Reaction score
140
Location
Bethlehem
Could you create some kind of mounting board that either stands on the ground or hangs from the cross beams?
I do have a bunch of unused pallets in the back yard. I'm not too handy but I could probably figure something out of i needed to.
 

TriggerFinger

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
521
Reaction score
557
Location
St. Louis
HI R2R,

I just purchased my 5 stage RODI unit and have the perfect (only) place for it in my basement next to the sole utility faucet in my home - but there is a snag.
One thing I forgot to consider is that the walls of my basement are stone. All stone. Nowhere for screws or fasteners to be secured. I could hang from the crossbeams but then all the meters and gauges become worthless.
Have any of you found yourselves in this pickle and come up with a decent solve?

Thanks,
Planning on Becoming Spaghetti
What did you come up with? Found your post searching for a solution to the exact same problem.
 

TriggerFinger

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
521
Reaction score
557
Location
St. Louis
Yea...I’m not equipped or skilled enough for all that. I’m think I’m going to make a stand and screw it to that. Thanks though!
 

Sleepydoc

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
853
Reaction score
762
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Several options I can think of -
- Mount a board on the wall using construction adhesive like liquid nails, then just screw into the board.
- check with your local hardware store, Home Depot, neighbor, etc about renting a hammer drill. You can buy Tapcon screws that simply screw into the hole. It’s acutally quite easy and would take less than 20-30 min (this is what I did) if you can make a stand, you can do this.
- make a stand like you were planning on doing.
- there’s nothing that says the filters have to hang on a wall. You can simply set them on the floor or on a shelf, too.
 

TriggerFinger

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
521
Reaction score
557
Location
St. Louis
- there’s nothing that says the filters have to hang on a wall. You can simply set them on the floor or on a shelf, too.
I’m going to drain di water to a brute. Doesn’t the unit need to be higher than the brute so gravity keeps the water flowing?
 

Sleepydoc

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
853
Reaction score
762
Location
Minneapolis, MN
No - the RO (& DI) water coming out is pressurized (slightly) from you household water supply. My DI unit is actually slightly below the top of my reservoir. You don't want a ton of back pressure, but a couple of feet won't matter. Just make sure you have it set up so it can't back siphon.
 

Sleepydoc

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
853
Reaction score
762
Location
Minneapolis, MN
No - the RO (& DI) water coming out is pressurized (slightly) from you household water supply. My DI unit is actually slightly below the top of my reservoir. You don't want a ton of back pressure, but a couple of feet won't matter. Just make sure you have it set up so it can't back siphon.
 
Corals.com

Sleepydoc

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
853
Reaction score
762
Location
Minneapolis, MN
No - the RO (& DI) water coming out is pressurized (slightly) from you household water supply. My DI unit is actually slightly below the top of my reservoir. You don't want a ton of back pressure, but a couple of feet won't matter. Just make sure you have it set up so it can't back siphon.
 
OP
WannaBSpaghetti

WannaBSpaghetti

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
162
Reaction score
140
Location
Bethlehem
What did you come up with? Found your post searching for a solution to the exact same problem.
Sorry for the late reply - I actually did find a solution! My basement has exposed boards in the ceiling. I went out and grabbed used wooden pallet and fastened it to one of the rafters. I installed everything on that pallet which is hanging above my collection cans as well. Its not elegant, but its functional.
 

Is Reefing the ONLY option for you?

  • Reefing or nothing!

    Votes: 115 62.2%
  • I would consider freshwater.

    Votes: 59 31.9%
  • Not sure...

    Votes: 11 5.9%

Online statistics

Members online
1,773
Guests online
4,045
Total visitors
5,818
Ultimate Corals
Geo's Reef
Top