William Wallace's 55g with minimum equipment.

Reefbuds

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all. I've been running a 55g with minimum equipment for almost 2 years now. I recently had a GHA outbreak which took 90% of my livestock. I have cleaned and reset my reef and am looking for success this time around. Current stock, 1 decent size Haddoni. Various SPS, LPS and sofites. 1 Derasa Clam. 2 Clarkii. 2 flame hawkish. 1 six line wrasse. 2 emerald crabs, arrow crab. 20+ hermit crabs and 30+ snails. Equipment, Cascade 300 filter. Coralife skimmer, 80g+ I believe? ( I forget, got this 2 years ago). Maxspect Razor X R5 200w lighting. Icecap 1k gyre flow and 600 gph powerhead.

Looking for any advice on how to run a tank like this with minimum equipment. Not looking to spend too much on upgrades atm.

All thoughts, advice, and questions welcome!

20190408_211958.jpg

Last edited:

NY_Caveman

likes words, fish and arbitrary statistics
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Heater? ATO?

Even with minimal equipment I would run an ATO. Just such an easy way to keep one major parameter, salinity, stable.

OP
OP
Reefbuds

Reefbuds

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Heater? ATO?

Even with minimal equipment I would run an ATO. Just such an easy way to keep one major parameter, salinity, stable.
So this is something I do not use. I keep salinity "stable" by feel. I know this sounds nuts but I keep at 1.026 very well from testing before and after water changes. Heating, I use a regular over the counter heater. I forget what it's called, but it regulates at 78 degrees.

NY_Caveman

likes words, fish and arbitrary statistics
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0