20 Gallon Long Mixed Reef Build

RiceKrispy Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef Buddies! I am new to the reefing hobby for the past year and a half. Started with a 20 gallon long tank and have been cycling a 40 gallon long for the last 8 mos.

My 20 gal is now packed with corals, but I wanted to share my progression of the tank, its ups and downs, and maybe get some advice from the experienced reefers out there!

Here are pics of the initial setup and about 10 months later. I'll post more pics of the current setup soon.

IMG_6897.jpeg IMG_9015.jpeg

OP
OP
RiceKrispy Reefer

RiceKrispy Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Initial tank setup in february 2020

IMG_6897.jpeg

Initial Tank setup, super simple:
20 gallon long tank
Random Wooden stand
Jebao wavemaker
Cheap skimmer
Marineland Power filter, for mechanical filtration
20 pound of live rock
Carab Sea Fiji Pink Live sand
API Master Test kit
Fluval Aquasky light

Parameters holding steady after one month
IMG_6953.jpeg

March 2020, approximately 2 months into my cycle. Not a huge fan of the aquascape, but got some cheap rock from different friends and rolled with it.
IMG_6955.jpeg

Last edited:
OP
OP
RiceKrispy Reefer

RiceKrispy Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About 3 months later, filefish and emerald crabs didn't make it. Added a bicolor blenny and yellow watchman goby. May 2020

IMG_7467.jpeg

OP
OP
RiceKrispy Reefer

RiceKrispy Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Played with the aquascape some. Blenny jumped out so got a lid and added some chromis. Added a maxi mini too

June 2020
IMG_7840.jpeg

OP
OP
RiceKrispy Reefer

RiceKrispy Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0